Skip to content

ways to get ahead- escape and make a list

February 19, 2008

I bunked office today to write this post.No -that is half the truth.I Bunked office to avoid solving tough situations.The atmosphere is heated up in the office- appraisals ,bonus time and stock markets tanking. the true dedicated proffessional that I am I did what I do best- ESCAPE!!While my hard working team mates fold up their sleeves to make that extra crore for the team ,I curl up on the bed for those extra minutes of sleep!!! what bliss.I also figured that this is the best way to avoid back stabbing in the big bad corporate world-how can you back stab a sleeping person?? GEDDIT??@#

While I am at it let me also make a list.Many great things in this world would not have been accomplished if not for THE LIST.preferably on a new note book in the best of your handwriting and especially written after things have hit rock bottom.The diet list after you struggle to get into a waist 30 jeans, the books to read list after you realise its been a year since you finished a book and the best of al, list of bills to pay after you hang up on the credit card guys requesting them to extend your due date- yet AGAIN.

1.I will resist the temptation to write colloquial and use ellipses… If I cant finish a sentence I better not be writing a blog.I willTRY NOT TO USE!’, or ‘@#@$&^%)(‘ or any other symbols to express my feelings.Words should do fine to tell you if I am angry,sick,sad, flirtatious or just plain bored.I said I will try so please donot keep a tab on me.

2.As I said ,with the attention span of toddler I cannot exactly pin point what I will write about.It will be anything that catches my fancy but I will try to keep it non personal. That will be the easy way out.If I write about people around me I know I wont get a writer’s block and will be assured of a couple of readers.Only if my mom was net savvy that would have been a couple plus ONE. πŸ˜›

Besides the whole idea of starting the blog is :

a) to start writing something more creative than office emails

b) to discuss anything and everything – superficial ,silly, quirky and boring – food ,me,drinks,me, economics,me,

3. I will not force or trick anyone -close friends and relatives included- either subtly (adding the blog link at the end of the mail)or ‘un-subtly’ (will edit when I get the appropriate word) into reading this blog.I will just use emotional black mail and the tried and tested method of ‘you -read-mine-i-will-read-yours’.And leave a comment.like a lion (or tiger) pees to say ‘i was here’

4.Btw I will post pics of my niece very often- might not have any accompanying mushy post.The pics will say it all.Thats cute and not personal (rule 2).

5.I am bored now.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Ajay permalink
    February 19, 2008 7:12 am

    Quite a frank piece . And well written too..Keep the good work

  2. Sid permalink
    February 19, 2008 8:52 am

    Love ur blog πŸ™‚ its a great start…and its so honest and so u…though hving known u i feel the first para isnt all true..but a very witty blog….one grouse though…i feel in the list of assured readers..u hv one more…and not just one couple and ur mom…and yes, for the record this comment does not fall under the ‘due to emotional blackmail’ category πŸ˜‰

  3. swarna permalink
    February 19, 2008 12:16 pm

    Hilariouse as always ! and GOD I can so relate to you!!Come home lets have a good crib/swearing session.
    and for once dont get bored .

    BTW have added it to my favs & forwarded it to friends and since I dont blog ‘You read mine I read yours’ doesnt work so trust me this is compliment as genuine as it can get :-).

  4. The big bad wolf permalink
    February 20, 2008 6:43 am

    Ha ha – we’ve known those lists for a long time. How about time tables for exams, eh? You love those also, right?

  5. Gitu permalink
    February 20, 2008 6:52 am

    Sis,i will nt say that i stumbled across this blog of urs though suggested by sum1(ahem)……..;).Bt i really likd it.Do keep up the good wrk!n dnt quit midway………..

  6. rashakalnikov permalink
    February 27, 2008 12:50 pm

    funny indeed…quite honest too..like sis says, keep at it!

Trackbacks

  1. 2008 : The year of no changes « Lost on the street
  2. Bollywood : I am catching up with you « Lost on the street

Leave a Reply

