Skip to content

Good Morn and a few random thoughts!

March 30, 2008

I woke up early today to an amazingly beautiful morning ,or maybe all mornings are like this and its just that I happened to miss them in the early morning rush to office. Its looks like it might rain.I am sitting by the window which overlooks the hills(yes there happens to be such a scenic view even in this godforsaken city).What a pleasure it is to browse through the newspapers at such a leisurely pace over important pieces of information like- What is Kajol and Ajay Devgan’s daughter’s name (Nyasa),the many marriages of Kamal hassan(Gautami, Sarika and forgot the third and first one) and What’s DJ Aqueel’s favourite car to drive( His answer :Planes!! errr!!!)

I am waiting to reach my thirties so I can leave my job and enjoy each morning.Sigh! Donot ask me why I am waiting to hit the thirties to work on that plan.I want to open a small second-hand bookstore with an attached cafe -hot coffee, baguettes, croissants and brownies and of-course the pleasure of being amidst books.The book shop has to be in a nice little neighbourhood ,where of course all my friends (who are now scattered all over the world) stay.It has to be in the corner of a street and will have blue stripped awnings.I will have my small but regular clientele -each sitting at thier favourite place ,reading solving crosswords or generally watch the world go by.And of course it will always be a nice cool morning -as nice as this one.

And while I am day-dreaming I might as well have a Hugh Grant run the cafe ?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. sid permalink
    March 30, 2008 5:42 am

    even i was having a wonderful morning sleep till someone switched off the fan and woke me up at 8 am sunday morning after 6 days of long working hours 😦 hmm..cafe menu with paneer baguettes and croissants looks more tempting than the idea of being in a book shop throughout the day ;-)…missin our breakfasts in goa

  2. Shahana permalink
    March 31, 2008 12:26 am

    Lostonthestreet! You just painted my dream in words about the coffee shop and books and everything that spells leisure!! The smell of warm fresh baked bread and steaming coffee, newspapers, Cosmos, Dilberts, calvin & hobbes all scattered around … maybe a jukebox and a fooseball table fitted in somewhere too.
    Sigh and more sighs …

    And oh, can we ocassionaly have George Clooney replace Hugh Grant ?

  3. lostonthestreet permalink
    March 31, 2008 4:25 pm

    @ Shahana : Ok if you insist! Clooney on weekends and Hugh on the weekdays.Happy?How can you forget pictionary and crosswords?

  4. April 1, 2008 6:37 am

    Hugh Grant? I thought it would be Clark Gable.

  5. Kamala permalink
    April 1, 2008 11:07 pm

    I dont like this cafe. I dont care whose managing the cash counter, as long as you dont have drinks that dont evaporate or start fires, I wont be coming.

    Go to Erebus.

  6. Shahana permalink
    April 2, 2008 2:05 am

    Dear blog owner,

    Sorry for stealing real estate here, but –

    @notunma : Clark Gable?! Which era are you living in and when was the last time you watched a SIZZLING HOT MAN on screen?

    @Kamala : I had to google ‘Erebus’ but are you taking lessons in Greek Mythology?

    😉

  7. lostonthestreet permalink
    April 2, 2008 4:02 pm

    @ Kamala: ok how about nice cafe in the day time and a wild wicked pub with us doing a coyote ugly???
    @ shahana :Real estate here is very expensive but u being sis’s friend and all ,u are excused!!

  8. Subhasish permalink
    April 15, 2008 11:31 am

    What n idea!! Hope it changes ur life after u turn 30.
    Wud b cool 2 hav such a bookstore cum coffee shop right inside the office…wud serve like an oasis for all wanting to escape frm the daily grind of SAS coding n multivariate statistics n ETAs and CTQs n blah blah blah…momentarily…well, so be it!

Leave a Reply

