Skip to content

The barbapappa family

April 2, 2008

Years ago ,I mean aeons ago when Doordarshan was the only channel and Krishi Darshan took 50% of air time and news readers wore stiff starched sarees and did exactly what they were supposed to do – Read the news with not an iota of emotion on their faces.

I digress.

So years ago when movies were aired only on Sundays , there used to be a fifteen minute break from 7.30 to 7.45 for the regional news. I donot know about other parts of India ,but in Assam ,right after the movie and just before the news there used to be aired a 3-4 minute clip of a cartoon show called the Barbapapa family .I still remember the title track.Atleast I remember me and my sis trying hard to figure out the names of the family.Btw they are the Barbalala, Barbabright, Barbabelle, Barbazoo, Barbalib, Barbabeau and Barbabravo.

And here is the title song
Was this series aired elsewhere in other parts of India? I am asking since that time slot I remember was reserved for the regional channel.Somehow I would like to imagine iit all thanks to some old man in a nondescript Guwahati Doorodorxon kendro with a fascination for somewhat obscure cartoons!! Thanks who ever you are.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2008 5:07 pm

    Wow! Someone else also used to watch barbapapa!! People think I’ve gone insane when I utter such nonsensical names ..in their view that is.

    I used to love it. I used to love how the barbapapa used to take any desirable shape 😀

  2. lostonthestreet permalink
    April 2, 2008 5:12 pm

    @ nm-OK now i am going crazy.reveal thy identity 🙂 read my comment in your blog! 🙂

  3. Shahana permalink
    April 2, 2008 11:20 pm

    I remember it too ! Yeah they aired it out of Assam too. Funnily enough, I used to always hum it as ‘babapapa, babamama etc etc’ ..without the ‘r’ there 🙂
    In fact, check this out : http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Barbapapa

  4. April 3, 2008 5:32 am

    I’m not sure if your hunch is correct because you are much younger to me. Why don’t you write to me at doiwrite@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

