Skip to content

Whose character is it anyway?

June 25, 2008

Tagged by rayshma (Edited)

The kinda of tag I like.List your favorite literary characters .Here is my list, not in order of preference but randomly as it comes to my mind. And I too will include cartoon characters.

1.Wally – in Dilbert . With quotes like “Always remember that when you reach for the stars… they’re too far away, so it’s hopeless.” ,is it a surprise this guy is my role model?

Or this ““When I was your age Asok, I too sought the thrill of victory and the pleasures of the flesh. But after twenty years of not getting either one, I made convenience my new mistress.””

2.Sir Humphrey Appleby GCB, KVB, MOA,MA(Oxon) –in Yes Minister/Prime Minister.Who wouldn’t want to be this mean,scheming master of obfuscation and above all super-sarcastic pompous civil servant.

And this is how he answers when asked for a simple straight forward reply.Begged actually by Hon.Jim Hacker.

“Well Minister, if you ask me for a straight answer, then I shall say that, as far as we can see, looking at it by and large, taking one thing with another in terms of the average of departments, then in the final analysis it is probably true to say, that at the end of the day, in general terms, you would probably find that, not to put too fine a point on it, there probably wasn’t very much in it one way or the other as far as one can see, at this stage.

3.Tasurinchi -in The StoryTeller, Mario Vargas Llosa…errmm no nothing funny here. πŸ˜›

But to those who havent read the book, it is about the character Saul Zuratas, an anthropology student who becomes so absorbed in the study of Amazon tribes that he abandons his scientific stance and enters as a native into the culture of the Machiguengas, a dwindling group who must walk (literally and figuratively) in order to survive as a people. (googled this part, as I couldnt be bothered about summarising the book :-)Basically its about the tribe trying to protect their identity ,and they rely on a story teller-Tasurinchi , and Saul becomes their Tasurinchi- to remind them of their past.

A debate ,on which I have been sitting at the fence for long- Civilization or Preservation of “ethnic indigenous culture” (someday I have to write a post on this)

4.Agastya Sen -in English August . IAS officer ,single ,who has been postedΒ  in the dusty small town of Madna.Very much affected by Sex , or lack of it.Stoned.Bored.Blatant lies to relieve himself of his boredom.One of the various meanings of his name that he came up with ,when asked for the umpteenth time was, “one who finishes flushing before peeing” .Besides . the only role where Rahul Bose didnt look like he would rather be elsewhere,maybe playing rugby (Seriously who else, other than me, thinks he is a highly over rated actor,pseudo-intellectual,you know the types no?)

Gosh.This is not easy a post..trying to visualise the book shelf at home,to remember books read ages ago.

5. Calvin- in Calvin and Hobbes . Self Explanatory.My favourite being “As a math atheist, I should be excused from this.” Just kidding,every line from Calvin is a favourite.And I refuse to buy the entire set for 6000 from Landmark. I have got gifts/bought various titles and now have almost the entire set.AMLOST <hint>

6.Rhett Butler – in Gone with the Wind. I still go weak kneed when I think of the passionate kiss at the bottom of the red carpeted staircase.Of course the fact that it was played by Clark Gable,who according to me is THE M.A.N.,Β  helped a lot (forget the sissies in Blue Frog,remember post couple of days back?). But then to be fair,I read the book first. His sarcasm (yeah I ama sucker for sarcastic wit :-)), the ready repartee,disowned by the family,turned a professional gambler,had prostitutes as friends, what was not to like about him ,you tell me.And then the first line of the book “Scarlett o Hara was not beautiful but men seldom realised it when caught in her charms “. (FYI, that was from memory,so might not be exact reproduction, ahem) was kind of a ray of hope for a few of us plain Janes in college.Maybe,just maybe, we wont die single.

7)Marvin,the Paranoid Android –in HitchHiker’s Guide . Depressed,bored and cribs a lot. I am not even talking about myself here. This is Marvin speaking :

“I didn’t ask to be made: no one consulted me or considered my feelings in the matter. I don’t think it even occurred to them that I might have feelings. After I was made, I was left in a dark room for six months… and me with this terrible pain in all the diodes down my left side. I called for succour in my loneliness, but did anyone come? Did they hell. My first and only true friend was a small rat. One day it crawled into a cavity in my right ankle and died. I have a horrible feeling it’s still there…”

8) Ok let me stop here,But i will come back and finish this post for sure.I am having a little bit of difficulty separating favourite books from the characters.

Thanks Rayshma for the tag.

And anyone who likes can pick this up- Jyo,Nits, Ba,Appa,MM, Devil Unkwown,Anu,~nm, Galadriel,K3,Preethi..I am not going knocking on people’s door personally now.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 25, 2008 7:05 pm

    a. u CANNOT call me raySma unless u’re a bihari/jharkhandi. 😦
    b. i must read the story teller…
    c. HOW did i miss rhett butler! me love him.
    d. love the fact that u did this so pronto!

  2. June 28, 2008 5:39 am

    Will do! will do!

    And BTW, didn’t get the last line of the comment you left on my blog. Please explain it for a dumbo me πŸ™‚

  3. June 28, 2008 5:46 am

    ok πŸ˜›
    Since it said “want to see pics of dishes u have cooked.” I got confused with the word ‘want’ πŸ™‚

  4. June 30, 2008 11:32 pm

    Done with mine! πŸ™‚

Trackbacks

  1. Life’s…. like that! » Blog Archive » The One With the Tag
  2. The One With the Tag « Life’s…. like that!

Leave a Reply

