Skip to content

Life and such like nuisances

July 5, 2008

Other blogs will be about happy events in people’s lives.Or tragic life-shattering events.It might even be about their glorious achievements or catastrophic failures.Don’t expect the extra-ordinary in my life and my blog.My blog, like my life, is about the mundane,the inconsequential and the minor irritants of life. Like a twitch in the eye.Imagine living with a permanent twitch.Its not “major” enough to warrant sympathy, but its troubling you nevertheless.What do you tell people??? And for how long?. Thank god for blogs. Here I intend to chronicle the daily hurdles I face, and thus fortify Murphy’s Law.If anything can go wrong it will.

Bring it on God!! You can’t break me no more.

Oh and in case you are still here ,guess what happened to me today morning. I was getting ready to come to office(on a Saturday no less, let me remind you) and got in the lift and – you guessed it – the lift got stuck!!The electricity went off and the lift doesn’t have a back up, and to make things more interesting it got stuck exactly between the two floors. Now of course if things would have gone according to the rules written in the “Letters to the Penthouse ” I would have been stuck with a Pierce Brosnan AND Colin Farell (maybe I should move to Ireland only ). And I would have come out “ravished” so to speak, clothes disheveled and hair out of place. And once we were ‘done’, these muscular men would have prised open the door for me, taken me out on a date and I would have walked down the aisle with either one.(oops, this part will be from M&B,definitely not Letters to…)

BUT then,this is my life. So I am stuck in a tiny lift with 2 middle aged ,well intentioned men.Pot bellied men. So after the initial awkward silence which lasted a full 3-4 minutes I guess, one called out to his wife to talk to the watchman(so much for strong arms opening the doors). When that didn’t work ,the other uncle-ji, had a brain wave and took my pen and forced open the inner door (well thin arms can also do the trick). Then we were left facing some levers and wires etc.. which he fiddled around with while I kept flashing my mobile torch. Finally the latch opened and we had to jump down to the landing of the floor below. The whole drama lasted a full 10 minutes, by which time I was sweating like a pig.

So then one more day , one more twitch.And life goes on.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Sid permalink
    July 5, 2008 10:36 am

    i think its got something to do with me not being there and all these things happen to you..otherwise my buldging biceps would have rescued you much faster :-)…nyways all my sympathies have gone after ur revelations on brosnan and farell….maybe i wud wait to showcase my strength for someone closer home..lets say Katrina…

  2. July 5, 2008 11:23 am

    All I can say is “Better luck next time” *wink*

  3. July 5, 2008 2:34 pm

    heyy… it could have been worse! did u still go to offc, btw?

  4. Galadriel permalink
    July 5, 2008 11:36 pm

    Collin Farrell?? Really?

Trackbacks

  1. And we cross yet another Milestone… « Lost on the street
  2. End of an era « Lost on the street

Leave a Reply

