Skip to content

Wimbledon 2008, Men’s Final

July 6, 2008

I have decided that I will marry Federer.

Why? :

(snippets from an article from Sports Illustrated)

Roger Federer is decent, humble and kinder than Aunt Bee. He is constantly saying ‘I’m just a normal guy.’ All his winning shots were just ‘lucky’.

“He doesn’t have a full-time coach. Has no tattoos. His entourage is a joke. His publicity agent, his scheduler, his hitting partner and his girlfriend are all the same person. And she is not even a lingerie model! Just an ordinary, very nice Swiss miss named Mirka”.

“Federer made an estimated $28 million last year, yet he doesn’t own a house, just two ‘flats’, he says.

“I don’t want to overlive,” Federer says. “I don’t need to be too big. It’s got to feel right when you go to bed at night.”

“Get this: You can send an autograph request to his parents’ house-their address is on his website-and within a month you’ll get a photo hand-signed by Roger. “Well, if I were a child,” he says, “I wouldn’t want to wait two years for a picture of my hero, would you?”

“Federer sometimes throws pizza parties for the ball boys at tournaments because he was one himself. And he attends!

“There were two chairs in the interview room. A large, cushy one with armrests and a plain straight-backed one. He looked at me sheepishly and said, “Would you mind very much if I took the larger chair? I am tired from my match.”

“Hello? Roger? Monster sports Goliaths don’t ask. Monster sports Goliaths plop down in the big one, then put their feet up on the smaller one”.

Btw, who is that hot guy who sits next to Mirka in all of Federer’s match? Quite a looker no?

What a match, what a match..As i type this its 2 sets to 1 ,Nadal serving for Championship point!!

Edited to add: MY Federer wins the tie-breaker (10-8),match goes on to the final 5th set…

FUCKKKK!!!! Office tomorrow.Bad case of Monday Morn Blues.

Edited to add II :Should I go off to sleep or wait for match to resume?

Edited to add III : Maybe I should have gone off to sleep.I would have saved myself another heart break, and would not have been so damn sleepy now.


4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sid permalink
    July 6, 2008 6:35 pm

    and now its 2-2…amazing match…completely forgot India – Sri lanka in the midst of this awesome play…have been cheering for federer till now..after reading ur post..my loyalties have changed :-)…

  2. Sid permalink
    July 6, 2008 7:08 pm

    Congrats on reaching the 6k milestone 🙂
    Me :Thanks!!!

  3. July 6, 2008 11:59 pm

    do i get an invite to the wedding?
    and umm.. i hope u watched the whole match?

  4. Galadriel permalink
    July 7, 2008 1:59 am

    Nadale won. Broke Federer’s seed. Blah.

Leave a Reply

