Skip to content

S.A.L.E.

July 13, 2008

Byline (copied from Galadriel’s comment) : I LIKE.I BUY

For the first time in my entire life,I was at the right place at the right time.

Place: Atria Mall

Time :Beginning of “SALE”.

(upto 50%)

For a change I did not venture into a mall at the end of the sale,which is almost like sitting down to eat long after the feast is over.You are left scrapping the barrels(I am tempted to say “literally” because they keep the clothes in a huge heap.

So this time I am back with a loot. Also I decided to buy stuff which are so “no me”.What am I, you might ask? Well, for starters, I am the one who wears clothes which are not seasons but years behind fashion.When it comes to shoes and watches, I wear only manly ones- which means stitches must be showing and no dainty straps.

E.G. earlier pair of shoes

And TA DA LA..I present Ms.Goody-two-shoes

Pretty no? Now I am dying to put my best foot forward.

And before we die of cliches overdose, I present that elegant ladies wallet/organiser.What is it called? I know all of you have it.

Before you go all DUH, let me give you a sneak peak into my old wallet .

Yeah this is the kind ,you will see taxi drivers flashing.All that is missing is a picture of Priyanka Chopra in the card holder and that pocket calendar with a picture of maybe Goddess Saraswati.

So now that I am feeling all girly, let me show you my shopping list

1) 2 pairs of shoes

2)Wallet/Organiser (whatever)

3)Corduroy from Levi’s

4) Gym bag for Sid from Puma

5)Sporty Top from Puma

6) Sexy top from Mango (50% discount,else I would be wearing tiny tops for Rs.2000, no thank you.Cheap clothes suit me fine, if 700-800 is cheap.)

Btw, the worst discount store was Nike (they had precisely 3 socks on 50% discount,a few on 20% and rest no sale).Puma was the best- flat 40% discount)

Tell me how you like my new stuff ok?

F.Y.I- I haaate shopping,especially in groups.When I am alone I am the world’s most efficient shopper.But some of my happy memories as a child has been accompanying my mom on her numerous shopping expeditions which inevitably ended in both us digging into some sumptuous north Indian fare,a rarity in Guwahati in those days.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Galadriel permalink
    July 13, 2008 1:25 pm

    Lol!
    Seriously girl, you needed those shoes. My first thought when I looked at them was “Are those Sid’s??”. So yeah, glad you went there on time. 🙂
    BTW, I LOATHE shopping too. I only shop when I need something and I don’t spend hours deciding whether I want it or if I can get a better price..blah. I like. I buy.

  2. rayshma permalink
    July 13, 2008 2:26 pm

    new sandals.. WAY better! me like older wallet tho…
    me no like shopping. but me love sales! esp on footwear or at bookstores… 😀

  3. July 13, 2008 3:18 pm

    Et Tu lostonthestreet???
    Huh! You ditched me in that!
    Its high time I should do something about my wardrobe or my looks may be. huh! Et tu???

    And yes, you will have to give me a crash course on how to walk with those kinda shoes once you successfully put your best foot forward. Thats the punishment!

  4. sid permalink
    July 13, 2008 3:39 pm

    i think u hv picked up the ‘shopoholism’ trait from ur mom only…for her its bags and for u its footwear!!yes guys dont be misled by those pictures…the entire collection (we already have 2 shoe racks with my shoes occuping 1/4th of the first rack)..has not been put on display..these were the most casual ones only meant to be worn inside the house..or in the park..btw.the gym bag is really cool..love it..
    p.s. galadriel..wat makes u think i hv such a good taste in shoes 😉

  5. kausiki permalink
    July 14, 2008 5:45 am

    cant imagine U carryin one of those ladies wallet/organiser!

  6. rasha permalink
    July 15, 2008 3:39 pm

    i caught them at a decent time too 😛 …picked up some tees n levis…i love indulging myselves…esp when dad pays for it….:D

  7. July 15, 2008 4:26 pm

    loved the new pair of shoes.. and the old wallet:) something about an old wallet that is so comforting don’t you think? I also always have that one pair of old battered shoes that I love but keep hidden from the husband who wants to get rid of it!!

  8. July 15, 2008 11:27 pm

    For those who are curious about – what north indian fare do you get in Guwahati? Surprise surprise – some very tasty Rajasthani thali that the little sis and the Ma discovered .. in god knows what shopping complex. Their shopping may have been low on efficiency – but it certainly led to great discoveries!

Leave a Reply

