Skip to content

Family Matters

July 30, 2008

There is something to be said of sibling ties. And I am not talking about all the corny Archies cards and Bollywood songs and festivals.Come to think of it we Assamese have no separate festival to celebrate siblings.

Why am I blabbering about this now? Maybebecause I had a post drafted ,but thought better of publishing it in my blog. Maybe I was scared ,maybe I was apprehensive . But I needn’t have worried,because my elder sister has written it all here. And this is what I mean when I say,it doesn’t matter how far you are now from each other,how caught up you are in your own lives, the ties that bind you are way too strong.

We come from a pretty close knit family. Respect for the elders and love for the youngsters.No wait,that was the K serial I saw last night.Our family is different.We believe “The family that fights together stays together”.So till my grandma was alive, the Bhagawati Clan (that is my mother’s maiden name and I am only talking of my mom’s side of the family) will gather in the tiny village of Nagaon, 3 hours drive from Guwahati ,for  the Annual get-together or kick-off as might be called.We are a pretty hot blooded family ,never shy to mince words,never short of a retort.But gather we must.EVERY.SINGLE.YEAR. With my mom’s 7 siblings,their spouses,the innumerable cousins, the grandmas and aunts twice removed, there was no dearth of masala to the pot boiler.That and Food.Our biggest passion.Followed closely by “Poroninda Porochorcha “,not idle gossip but catching up on the who-is-upto-what.

And  the next generation is living upto the tradition.Unfortunately we are all spread far and wide now to indulge in  as many verbal spars as we would have liked to,but we try hard,I can assure you.

Those of you who have missed out on such close family ties ,you have missed out on a lot.

Why else will my cousin say that she loves those post the best where I talk about my family.

How do you account for the fact that two sisters living miles apart had the same post in mind,even if its is about something we haven’t talked about much.And how similar our memories were of our brother, though given the age difference I was more of the pesky brat while they were the comrades- in-arms,all ready to torment me the moment the parents were out of sight. How both the posts mentioned  “betrand russell,yes prime minister,bald is beautiful ,prankster , elder sister being the studious one while we both were always upto pranks reading her diaries”etc etc.

Yes we still steal each other’s clothes and earrings  the moment the other one loses guard,we never lose an opportunity to get in the last word, but till today she is the one I will call first- be it changing jobs or changing hair style!!!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. kausiki permalink
    July 30, 2008 11:49 am

    Hey ,absolutely loved d post.How I miss those days……..stay close sis,always!

  2. Galadriel permalink
    July 30, 2008 12:04 pm

    🙂
    I hate living in the US for this exact reason.

  3. kopili permalink
    July 30, 2008 3:05 pm

    Its really strange.. I wrote the post, and then kept it private for an entire day.. debating with myself. And finally decided to post it.

  4. July 31, 2008 5:54 am

    Hmmm….poroninda and porochorcha…we excel in that department babes!
    and a Bengali and an Assamese…
    A truely rare breed of friends wouldnt you say?

  5. sid permalink
    August 2, 2008 10:11 am

    totally agree with ur cousin on the family posts..very well written i must say..made me a bit nostalgic on my growing years in a joint family..where all cousins would get together every summer vacation :-)…nice to see u guys still maintaining that closeness and be in regular touch…something missing here :-(..

  6. Kakoli permalink
    August 4, 2008 4:58 pm

    Touched so am I…No, don’t worry.I will not repeat the std xi dialogue.

    I can totally relate to the “similar” thoughts in your minds…that’s what sis & me discover again and again in life. Sis & me are often proud of ourselves for the different skills we have picked up over the years known only to us, and unknown to everyone else… coded body gestures to mean warning signals in a crowd, funny sounds used to depict situations when vocabulary fails…and lot more. How we perfectly understand each other. Yes, agreeing to the same point could be abother discussion, but understand yes we do. And you realise with siblings around,best friend is just a redundant concept…

    Now you know,I’ve been reading your posts:)

Leave a Reply

