Skip to content

A shade more and a shade less would have half impaired the nameless grace- Lord Byron

August 6, 2008

I think every time we take a step forward in removing prejudices ,something like this, comes across and we are back to square one. For those of you, who didn’t click, its the Ponds ad I am talking about with Saif Ali Khan and Priyanka Chopra.I am sorry if I am a bit too late in this, but I hardly watch T.V. these days (because whenever I swtich on they seem to be showing this amazing intellectually stimulating show called “Splitsville” on MTV, which is too much for my head- fodder for another blog)

But then I thought we had moved ahead long time back,especially with people like Bipasha Basu always ruling the list of sexy women.But of course I was mistaken.Being fair still rules. As the only dark kid in the family, I was subjected to the usual barbs from unthinking aunts and uncles. Well thankfully for my short memory, I have forgotten about it and have no scars from those ‘traumatic episodes’. But I will be lying if I said that it never affected me a child. Yes like many others I did pray to God sometimes ,to just turn me fair ,only so that I can mix in with the crowd.

Funnily enough, if you ask me now what I think is my best feature ,I would say its my skin. Its an smooth complexion and without any blemishes and if you would allow me to blow my trumpet a little bit more, I would say,it does have a glow to it, thank you!!! Yes I was lucky never to suffer from acnes and pimples and zits.

Many a times I have heard many of my friends slip their guard of openness and say something seemingly innocent like “She is dark but beautiful”..why but??

Why can’t it be dark AND beautiful?

P.S. The subject line ,taken from “She walks in beauty” by Lord Byron is one of my favourite poems, and that happens to be my favourite line in the poem.Maybe that was the first time I had come across any work of art which didnot openly praise the white skinned beauty, the fair maiden.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. rayshma permalink
    August 6, 2008 1:13 pm

    we’re a country where an average girl would be urged to buy fair & lovely rather than encyclopedias. ever read the matrimonial sections for bride wanted? all of them start with “fair, homely, convent-educated…” and now, they’ve added the dreadful fair & handsome to that crap! so, to bring things to equality, they will now pressurize men to be light-skinned as well! EWWW!!!
    and btw, I, for one, envy u on that clear glowing skin!

  2. Galadriel permalink
    August 6, 2008 3:30 pm

    hehe.. me too, me too, dark and erm.. err.. reasonably attractive.. πŸ˜€
    btw, rayshma, you never said you envy MY glorious flawless skin!! offended i am. πŸ˜€

  3. Shahana permalink
    August 6, 2008 10:25 pm

    Hate me for saying this but I am a sucker for fair skin! πŸ˜€

  4. Anu permalink
    August 7, 2008 9:17 am

    Am now remembering those adds gori gori…n fair n lovely…btw am discovery was guys use more fair n lovely than gals…-:)

  5. rayshma permalink
    August 7, 2008 1:57 pm

    @ galadriel…
    stop fishing! that too on someone else’s blog! πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

