Skip to content

Single…and Happy ever after!!!

August 15, 2008

So basically I was at tenterhooks with all “well-meaning” aging aunts prodding me in every family wedding “Next is you”.Suddenly I came up with my own line which silenced them, hopefully, for ever. Next time I see them at any funeral, I gently prod them with a “Next is you”!!!!

Above joke narrated from memory. Copyrights to above joke is unknown.

But then, you do get the idea, don’t you, my dear fellow single women/men who have no plans/intentions of walking down the aisle/doing the seven rounds anytime soon/ever.Whew I hope I covered the desired universe with the preceding statement.

I love to travel light. I have  left cities/jobs/situations in a jiffy. Poof!! Just like that. No explanations, no teary farewells, no justifications. Just because I want to. I guess marriage makes things a tad too complicated for a simple person like me!!

Getting married is like going to a restaurant with friends. You order what you want, then when you see what the other fellow has, you wish you had ordered that.”

Disclaimer :It just happens to be a big co-incidence that I write this post on the eve of the Independence day!!! Believe you me.

“Single” in the heading refers to the following meaning as per http://www.thefreedictionary.com

7.

a. Unmarried.
c. Relating to the unmarried state: enjoys the single life.
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Galadriel permalink
    August 15, 2008 3:18 am

    So, what happens to that poor unsuspecting live-in boyfriend of yours?

  2. Anu permalink
    August 15, 2008 3:33 pm

    I wonder why this post comes under ‘ In which I am terribly pissed off’ !

  3. August 19, 2008 3:09 am

    yeah, i wonder abt anu’s question…ahem! 🙂

    but hey – cheers to ‘single’-ness, eh!

  4. August 23, 2008 9:17 pm

    i think the aunts are just jealous 🙂 when i told my mom the last time she was complaining, that both her daughters are single but very very happy, and could she just relax, she couldn’t understand what was wrong with me!

    i think it’s more of a “generation” gap – they aren’t used to the single and happy concept as it was unheard of in their times.

Leave a Reply

