Skip to content

One fine day at the parlour

September 11, 2008

On second thoughts,is any one around? I think I can hear my echo!!!Oh please, don’t give up on me yet. Lets take it as a big bad case of blogger’s block?Unless you want to take it as a case of ennui. Or you won’t care either way, because you just happened to land here googling for ” 09371272497″ or “percentages to ratios” (seriously am deleting that post now) or “birthday wishes” , or “bad phase of life” (yeah thats more like it!!)

Lots of things have been happening out here. Oh who am I kidding, its the same old office, same old people and same old traffic.But, ahem, new hair style. All to highlight my natural curls. I was also thinking of getting it coloured. Burgundy , said the stylist.Wow, nice place they offer you wine too!! Oops, no , she was just suggesting a hair colour to go with my complexion.But since I am not only colour blind but also fail to visualise colours with fancy names like Burgundy, Fuschia, azalea, jacaranda (isnt that an animal? ), I decided it will be prudent to wait till I get a more fashion conscious person along with me next, like S.They donot take too lightly to purple coloured hair in my office.

But if you ask me, frankly I think, I look like Bob Marley- on a bad hair day.And, what could have made it worse??? Come on take a wild guess?How about having the CEO of your freaking company, sitting right next to you at the bloody parlour. Not just through the entire hair cut but also the pre-cut shampooing ritual. I would rate that as uncomfortable situation No. 1 . . for him that is. Especially more since he knows me, rather knows that I work in his company. Poor guy was so visibly embarrassed, considering he was the only guy in that small tiny salon (Juice, in Mumbai ), that he could just about mumble ” This is the first time I am coming to this place”. I hope he didnt notice me stiffling my giggles as I frantically started smsing all my colleagues. One guy asked if I am getting the same style as him? Well , when getting bald in the middle and having more hair on one’s ears than on one’s head, gets in style ,we will see about that!! I saw him pay almost as much as I did for my hair cut. I think he didn’t get good returns on his investment. High maintenance per strand of hair.

Post Script : I heard its good etiquette to reply to comments. So that is what I am going to do .And since I have only 3 at the most, it shouldn’t be a hard task.Plus I am a sucker for good manners.One big plus with S. :- P

9 Comments leave one →
  1. kausiki permalink
    September 11, 2008 6:58 pm

    gud to c u back in action!poor CEO ,he must hav felt really jealous ……….
    Me : Of course he was jealous, what use is a few hundred crores,if you don’t even have hair to flaunt it.

  2. Galadriel permalink
    September 11, 2008 7:10 pm

    put up a photo like you did the last time.. 😀
    Me: Like I said, Imagine Marley,imagine him after he someone hits him on the nuts 🙂

  3. Anu permalink
    September 11, 2008 9:44 pm

    highlights !! Did you do only 1 color or 2-3 colors, must have spent fortune am sure ..-:)
    Me : Apparently its a whole complicated process, takes 2 hours. Well you know my patience levels ! 🙂

  4. September 12, 2008 4:21 am

    i like Juice!
    and the first thing i did when i quit my job was color my hair burgundy! then, red. it was like a whole new animal every time! was fun! could have never done it at the job…

    there u go! 4 comments u have now!
    Me: You are the only one who got the hint ;-). .I am trying Haakim’s aalim next time.

  5. blinkandmiss permalink
    September 12, 2008 3:10 pm

    ya on popular demand, give us a picture babe! and just how much does it cost to get a decent hair cut at Juice? The Adhuna Akhtar wala salon – Juice right?

    i am just so scared that i’ll have to sell my clothes and newly cut hair to be able to pay for a haircut at Juice
    Me: Even I was scared that I have to pay an arm for a haircut,but its not thaaat bad. 🙂 I mean a senior stylist will charge around 1200. I paid 1000 for my haircut.I am a bit confused if Adhuna Akhtar owns Juice or B:Blunt (the one next to it).
    Picture???? They might sue me for bad publicity!!!

  6. Anu permalink
    September 12, 2008 4:31 pm

    Well looks like from the above comments you are going to those Mumbai page three places! Last time I heard about Olive from you and now this juice, wonder why anyone will give this name to barber shop, oops sorry hair salon
    Me : Page 3..yeah I Wish!!! I come to an office filled with ugly ,frustrated and boring people!!!

  7. Devlina permalink
    September 13, 2008 4:59 pm

    Man atleast he has the moolah! Unlike us, he can atleast afford to get some kinda hair weaving done a.k.a. Himesh Reshammiya in Karz! Is he willing to lend me a couple of lakhs for say 50 years at 0.25% rate of interest?
    Me : And ,what , may I ask, will you offer him? Some kind of indecent proposal?

  8. sid permalink
    September 14, 2008 11:04 pm

    a nice post after a couple of not so passionately written ones :-)..enjoyed the self depreciating humor though the comparison to Bob Marley is completely rubbish..noticed quite a few heads turn seeing u in ur new haircut and glares standing outside Juice..and am glad u got it finally after planning for a year now!!!,,,now am waiting for the tattoo 🙂

  9. kopili permalink
    September 15, 2008 12:16 pm

    How about a pic, little sis?

Leave a Reply

