Skip to content

Dad was right after all…I should have tried for the Civils.

September 17, 2008

Here I am tiptoeing around my boss,heming and hawing trying to find the perfect time to ask for a measly 3 days off ,that too in October end and this is what I read . Effective from 1st September, the Central Government has not only increased maternity leave for its female employees to six months but has also cleared paid leave for two years to take care of children. “The order, effective from September 1, increases maternity leave of women employees from 135 days to a cool 180 days for each of their two children. From now on, women employees can take paid leave up to two years (730 days) during their career for “taking care” of their two children without affecting their seniority.”

Adding to the bonanza, a woman employee can avail of child care leave in any combination till her two children are 18 years of age. In line with the Sixth Pay Commission proposals, the new leave regime for women means that during their stint with the government, they can avail paid leave of as much as three years, provided they do it only for two children.

This is my WTF moment. Should I go all hurrah for all mothers-to-be? Well that would be asking for too much maturity on my part since I don’t see myself nuturing a baby in the near future.

Or is anyone thinking what I am thinking? Fine, I will go spit out a couple of them babies too.Then leave them with my mom and off I go travelling the world. I mean they are not going to keep a tab on me are they?

With the recent pay hike in the Central Government, I can definitely squeeze in the Europe trip ,isn’t it? 

Sperm Donors wanted please.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Devlina permalink
    September 17, 2008 4:02 pm

    I didnt honestly understand what is it you desire..to have babies and leave them with mom and go travelling to Europe?

    or

    take the Civil Services and then have babies and leave them with mom and go travelling to Europe.

    The first option would have * Me :beep beep alert no company name allowed *<em>kick you by your arse in 3 months and 1 day if you dont show you face at your “self-commented” sea facing office!

    Me : the way it is going in the financial sector now, I am mentally preparing myself to get fired ,e every Morn!!!And I was talking about Option 2, of course!!

  2. Anu permalink
    September 17, 2008 9:34 pm

    Can’t imagine working with those fat uncles n aunties who are there to everything apart from work …let them have all the holidays they are gona get!

    Me : Who the hell wants to be with them!!I will have 2 kids take my holidays and then resign.Simple.DUH!

  3. kopili permalink
    September 18, 2008 1:47 pm

    Now, now – dont take it out on all the poor Moms out there. Btw, if somebody thinks the 2 years of paid leave is a vacation for the Mom – they are terribly mistaken. There is no vacation for a Mom until the kids turn 18 – and thats the whole truth!
    Me – I saw/read in Nat Geo about how pregnant animals and mothers with their litters are the most ferocious things to be around.Now I know what they are talking about!!!

  4. September 18, 2008 4:21 pm

    oh man.. you are so in line for a smack from me. have you seen your poor sis and BIL struggle to put the little one in daycare. dont u think little X deserves to have a parent around? gah.

    you wait till i see you.
    ME– Stirred a hornet’s nest did I? 🙂

  5. Gaurav permalink
    September 23, 2008 1:40 am

    why don’t u adopt grown up kids….they can accompany u travelling…click nice pics of mommy ..hint hint! .a lil bit of moolah help is all you need to give….they’ll be independent and perfect company…go for it!

Trackbacks

  1. Two years off to take care of your kids « The Brat, the Bean and Bedlam

Leave a Reply

