Skip to content

Response to comment on a very old post

November 4, 2008

Dear Puktun,

To answer the questions raised by you in this post:

1)“Tell me how many times have you tried to understand other people in their social contexts.”

Hmm I have till now dated a mallu, two punjabis, a kashmiri,a marathi , a bengali!! I definitely did my best to “understand other people(sic) in their social context! 🙂
2)”Hell even the Hill tribes are different from each other in terms of culture language. So what sister states are you talking about?” –

Yes ,thank you for recognising that north east is  a conglomeration of various tribes and communities.The seven sisters I am talking about is a oft used sobriquet for the seven states which are in the North-Eastern region of India.

3)I agree that NE people live in comparitively free societies and I donot consider this as bad or as an evil.

I, don’t know about the others,but I for one WILL ALWAYS consider a free society as a good.So I see that you are stating the obvious here, right?

4)Yes most Indians have an aversion to eating cats and dogs and cockroaches. So what? No1 is stopping you from have you fill of canines. You what even if you go to America people will find you strange if you tell them that you eat Dogs and cats. So you see you have to take things in the Cultural context.

a) Thank you for letting me eat what I want.You are sounding like my mom. Just a query, which tribe in India eats cats and cockroaches?

b)Oooh, So now I will have to get my culinary tastes certified by God’s Agents on Earth, the mighty Americans too?

And just in case, you, or any other less hysterical soul wants to know more about assamese cuisine, here’s a good website  http://www.assamesecuisine.com . Check it out.

c) What is this taking things in cultural context that you keep harping about?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 5, 2008 3:47 pm

    oh boy! thanks for that assamese cuisine link! what an amazing treat to the eyes. and the vegetarian section is substantial too. yaiyyyy i say.
    Me: The idea is that you cook and call me over:-)

  2. Anu permalink
    November 5, 2008 4:32 pm

    war of words already started !

  3. November 8, 2008 9:30 pm

    i will just roll up my sleeves and glare and back you up! 😛

  4. Prakash permalink
    December 25, 2008 10:45 pm

    I am sorry to sneak into a women’s blog.
    But, you know, its always interesting to peep into “janana” lounge.
    And, I could have gone without letting you know about my visit.
    But, I stopped here and though to send you my comment after I went through a few line of your posting on “how many times have you tried to understand other people in their social contexts.”
    Actually, I could not understand, what did you want to learn dating with different boys even a “mallu”?

Leave a Reply

