Skip to content

If a picture is worth a thousand words…

November 5, 2008

…then I surely have written a odyssey on my recent trip to Turkey.I now have a gazillion pics(1250 , if you insist) to sort through.The fact that  one of my fellow trip-mate, Anand , is one of those serious amateur photographers who tagged along a digital SLR and was equally trigger happy, just added to the numbers. The end result being that now we have so many pictures that watching it in a slide show is almost like watching an animated movie.(Rather like  those books you get where if you flicked them fast enough , you get the illusion that the still pictures are moving. Remember the one Darsheel Safary made in Taare Zameer Par,and his mom shed copious tears when she flicked through it? What are those books called anyway?)

So the project for the week is sifting through those pictures (editing, deleting the unflattering ones etc etc) and finally the gargantuan task of uploading them.And then I will be ready to bombard people with my holiday pics. My sister is already threatening to attack me with pictures of her holiday in Italy. I suspect she too must have gone to quite a few museums, in which case, you guessed it right,it will be one dark picture in a museum for another.Ba, can we call it equal and consider all pictures seen?

Which brings me to my current pet peeve. Who, among here, finds a tiny newt like creature dripping wet with gooey stuff and ugly red blotches attached to it , cute? I will tell you who. Friends of new born parents. It was bad enough that they were attacking us with “aww-so-cute”toddler kids. Now I see parents putting up pictures of babies two  seconds after it is born .With drips and tubes attached, in one case.What next? A close up while mom is pushing out the baby?? I won’t be surprised if they start uploading videos of the whole labour process.Please don’t tell me its already up in Youtube. I protest on behalf of these babies. Barely out of the tunnel, just about getting their breath in a whole new world and getting clicked for what will become the worst picture album of their lives.

And what can be worse than that ? Freinds commenting “Aww soo cutttttte!!”,”She is a princess”,”She looks like you/her dad” etc etc. OH COME ON ALREADY.I stick to the neutral “Congratulations” (unsaid bit :” What on earth have  you been sleeping with to produce that. Lets just hope it grows to be a human”). I mean you can’t possibly be finding thaaat thing cute. Actually the people with these outrageous comments are also the ones who comments on wedding albums “Oh looking at this picture made me realise that there is something called true love and perfect match made in heaven etc etc..” . You cannot make these things up ,I swear. Infact I saw a school mate of mine using the exact same comment for two different common schoolfriends!!!

And to end on a grand note this is sid and me on the Bosphorus River  (Erratta : Trust Anu, who was with me in Turkey , and a seasoned traveller herself , to point out a glaring mistake . IT is the Bosphorus STRAIT which connects Marmarra Sea with the Black sea. Thanks Anu :p)with the Asian side of the Istanbul on the background.(or could be the European side, I am not too sure)

img_75701

13 Comments leave one →
  1. rayshma permalink
    November 6, 2008 5:14 am

    lovely pic. really. 🙂

    Me : Now that “really” has made me suspicious!! 😉

  2. November 6, 2008 8:12 am

    Hi, the “darsheel safary” books are called Flipbooks, I think!

    Me:Oooh!! I was about to use that word but I thought its too obvious a name!! 🙂

  3. Anu permalink
    November 6, 2008 4:53 pm

    Bosphorus River????? which river was thta ???..-;)

  4. Anu permalink
    November 6, 2008 4:54 pm

    Bosphorus River????? which river was that ???..-;)

  5. Kamala permalink
    November 6, 2008 11:33 pm

    Oh looking at this picture made me realise that there is something called true love and perfect match made in heaven

    Me : Damn you mothers!! 😛

  6. November 7, 2008 12:36 am

    And I thought I was the only one to find newborns ugly, to say the least! Couldn’t get to admire my own daughter when she got born, she was shrivelled and so tiny. All I could think of was how long I carried her, the ceaserean and the not-so-sweet fruit of labour, sigh! But they do grow up to be pretty little things 🙂
    Me : Well said!! And thats why I keep uploading pics of niece every now and then!!! I think they are at their cutest best in their twos and threes!!

  7. November 7, 2008 1:55 am

    What exactly were you doing sneaking in and looking at N when nobody was looking – when she was barely a week old? Wondering who the father is??
    Me : You are henceforth banned here.

  8. Kamala permalink
    November 7, 2008 11:57 pm

    And always pinging me and asking – “Why haven’t you updated Kanishk’s pictures. I want to see how he looks now.”
    ME : Sheesh all these Moms ,I tell you. Ready to pounce !! 🙂

  9. November 9, 2008 1:11 am

    You look a lot like vanessa hudgens.. at least in this pic
    Me: Since I dont knwo who she is I am not sure if I should be abusing you or blushing 😉

  10. November 10, 2008 8:46 pm

    yea once-newt-like, looking at ur turkey pic count, i wudnt be surprised if tht “labour” video came frm you… just in case your guy cant be trusted with the camera with such blood-bath happening, you can keep me as a back-up camera-woman 😉
    Me : Oh boy thats just a drop in the ocean. Lots more to upload!!

  11. November 19, 2008 2:24 am

    Vanessa Hudgens is the main lead from the high school musical series.. the disney one

  12. November 22, 2008 1:03 pm

    Prompted by this post, I just ‘youtubed’ up, and found thousands of videos of mothers giving births, and even watched a couple of them. They were extremely grotesque and gory, to say the least. No wonder many of the mothers opt for the C-section these days.

    I remember not even holding up my niece till almost a month after she was born.

    And yes, I agree with Perx on the Vanessa Hudgens comment.
    Me : Now I have to google this Vanessa Hudgens female

  13. December 2, 2008 1:32 pm

    Wow! What a lovely pic! And a very lovely backdrop too!

Leave a Reply

