Skip to content

They got us where they wanted-Crouching with fear

December 8, 2008

Yesterday :We are at a extremely noisy restaurant (Poptates-for those of you from Mumbai)  .Noisy with the clatter of conversation,babies bawling ,huge groups celebrating someone’s bday and music in the background.Suddenly there was a loud bang and a waiter shouted. Pin drop silence-but for the music in the background which I now realise was Justin Timberlake’s Sexy Back.Even the over-optimistic me was quiet for a moment.Till we all realised it was just a waiter who banged the door realllly hard. We sheepishly looked at each other and continued with our dinner.

Today: Around evening there were a volley of bursts in our complex,which otherwise we would all have dismissed as wedding celebrations.Today ,like me, I saw quite a few people come to their windows to check for sure that it actually is just another wedding.

Friday evening :We go to Metro Cinema for the 8.45 show of Burn After Reading. Forget about booking tickets in advance, the entire hall had a total of 8 people, including the 3 of us.For a friday evening show in South Mumbai.

Tuesday : Since I just shifted team I now work from a different building.I called a friend of mine in the earlier building to ask her about the layoff  situation in her team.To be precise I asked her ” So whats the firing scene like?”. Her reply :”What firing? There is more firing now? Where? When? Wha…” .Ironically, on the day of the blasts, I smsed a friend (who I knew was at CST  and later realised took the last train out before the shootout), a rather cryptic sms “Firings all over South Mumbai”. He later tells me that his first thought was that I was refering to people getting laid off in almost all financial firms and infact wondered why I sent such a weird sms.He brushed it off as another of my eccentricities.

P.S. :new picture courtesy  recent trip to Turkey.This was from our hike to the Red Valley, Capaddocia.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Galadriel permalink
    December 8, 2008 1:55 am

    😦

    and india tv is on about kabootars!

  2. rayshma permalink
    December 8, 2008 3:33 am

    😦

  3. December 9, 2008 3:51 am

    The restaurant incident would really have been scary. I mean, the afterthought. I had a similar experience at a multiplex in Central Bangalore where I could get a movie ticket over the counter on Saturday evening, barely a couple of minutes before the show began.

    PS: That is an amazing photograph! Is that a panaroma or a simple crop?

  4. December 9, 2008 10:23 am

    @ galadriel: oh yeah read about that bit though missed it on t.v.
    @ ahses : its a single shot picture.and we hiked through that place .yipee

Leave a Reply

