Skip to content

Seriously,there is no plan*

February 27, 2009

If I remember correctly,my last post ended with my resolve to post more.And with that I promptly took a 2 week hiatus.When will I learn ? Possibly never.But then I did go back and reply to all the comments.(And yes SMM, I saw your reply to my reply,so it really is a wonderful  thing we have going out here : -))

I have been on the road (doesn’t that make me feel all Jack Kerouac-sy) for sometime.First on a trip to Majuli (the World’s largest river Island ) and then to Manas  Wildlife Sanctuary (hotspot for Project Tiger,but of course yours truly failed to spot a single one,though the guide helpfully pointed out pug marks).

I plan to write nice long posts about both the places in the next couple of days.I hope this suspense is not killing you though.

I just got back to Mumbai yesterday and I wish I could have written that I missed the city ,the places,the people etc etc.No amount of poetic license  will allow me to wax eloquent about this city.Maybe because I have not stayed at my house in Assam for such a long period of time (almost2 months),since my 12th standard, but my home town looked prettier this time. Frankly Guwahati is otherwise just another Indian city ,saved only by the presence of the still relatively clean Brahmaputra (Lonely Planet in one of its editions dismissed Guwahati  as ” ordinary ugly city”,but then they can shove the LP up their you know what-Ouch, it is a bulky book).Fortunately the place where I stay is pretty nice,amidst hills and a good view of the river .So away from all that greenery and chirping of birds from the balcony ,I am back to this city of overcrowded local trains .

Another big news is that S went to Guwahati .So it was a big family occassion,with all my relatives coming over to judge him.I think he passed the test.But then my relatives have such a low opinion of me,that they are just glad I got home someone instead of dying a old maid.Sigh.Language barriers non withstanding, they managed to bully and rag him in turns.He has survived, but I think I need to draw the whole family tree for him.He is having trouble connecting the parents to the kids and husbands to the wives.

Now does this mean the dreaded M word is getting closer?  I have not taken a single thing/project to completion in life, so really the odds are heavily stacked against this.Maybe it was not a good idea.Maybe I should order lunch now.Hunger makes me cranky.

So now I am in Mumbai to sort out my office paper work and final settlement.(sheesh I dread meeting those HR people ,who inevitably are those cool and (often the only ) females with never a hair out of place, and never seem to be frazzled.)Something about them reminds of those ‘most popular girl school’ whom everyone would want to be friends with.Otherwise simply known as beeyatches.

Later in the evening plan to get drunk with office (ex, i mean) friends,who would of course use me as a sounding board to bitch about the office. Another big Sigh.

* – In response to the ‘What-Next’ query from  well -wishers.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 27, 2009 5:19 pm

    Yes we certainly do have a wonderful thing going on here 🙂

    Anyway have fun with the ex-office frnds and forget about the HR bitches – till the next time. And look upon these months as a wonderful break fom the humdrum of everyday life of work n home. Sometimes I just feel like quitting work to just catch up on myself – not as a wife or a friend or a professional or as a daughter – but just as myself

  2. February 27, 2009 8:40 pm

    if I rber correctly, u ended ur last post asking if we read the replies to comments! 😛

    and now that he’s been “appproved” officially and all.. that’s another reason to party, no?
    as for connecting ppl in the family.. i STILL (after almost 3 years of matrimony) cannot place Vs entire family! neither can he…so it’s kinda okay! 😀

  3. February 27, 2009 10:30 pm

    So, seriously, what next? 😛

    But awesome time you are having. And considering you were such an asset to your ex-office, they’ll surely give you a fantastic recommendation, no? No? Should I be running for cover unless that LP gets hurled at me?

  4. February 27, 2009 10:31 pm

    Oops, I can’t believe I did that. Pliss to be correcting previous comment: Should I be running for cover lest that LP gets hurled at me?

  5. sid permalink
    February 28, 2009 9:43 pm

    can vouch for the amazing location of ur house, the hills, brahmaputra :-)..being there just for a short while i felt kind of depressed coming back to dusty mumbai…and i did have a great time with the big big family, all mahis, uncles, and kids…put on a few kilos with all peethas, rosagullas, fish, chicken etc..need to hit the gym again…am eagerly waiting to read about our manas national park and bhutan trip 🙂

  6. March 1, 2009 1:43 am

    nobody replies to comments now! hmph! 😛

  7. March 6, 2009 9:10 pm

    Got Guwahati on my wishlist now 🙂

Leave a Reply

