Skip to content

Waste not want not

March 2, 2009

I am doing a full recce of my financials these days.I have to ,now that I left my parent’s house (wail sob sob). This by the way is my second attempt -taking stock of my financials that is.I did it about two months back.In a nice little book I wrote down all the savings I had in different banks (before you wonder, four different companies means I had four different salary accounts),my FDs ,my others investments including my insurance premiums,and believe it or not, even my account details.And I promptly misplaced the notebook.Moral of the story, don’t write your account details on a piece of paper anytime.But then you already knew that didn’t you?

Anyway, that is not the point of the post.As I forsee months of no steady income I am trying to cut corners.How?

1) Eating out only once a week.(Easier said than done,especially when there are so many people to meet).Well,maybe change that to eat only at cheap places.There goes morning buffets at Renaissance,dinner at Mangi Ferra,Moshe’s ,Basillico, Out of the Blue.

2)No movies in mutliplexes.This one is a cakewalk for me since I am equally happy watching a movie on a dvd.It helps that the boyfriend is a movie buff and downloads movies.So when I got back I had all the latest movies downloaded already for me.Did someone say Piracy? To them I have only one thing to say :Recession.

3)No shopping for clothes/luxuries for the next four months.

4)Drinking preferably at home or maybe at cheap places.That night we hit rock bottom when we went to Gokul’s in South Mumbai. πŸ™‚ But at Rs.300 per head I was not complaining. While I am at it I might as well bum cigarettes from others.

5) Cut down on coffee outings.

Before anyone has visions of me leading a life in abject penury, I must confess these small pinches have actually led me to do some thinking.Finally,some would say.What I considered necessities , I know realise,are nothing more than luxuries pushed down on our lifestyle by some subtle and not so subtle marketing gimmicks. A simply detour to a Barista and you are down by almost Rs.150 between the two of you (two cups of cappucino and a walnut brownie with icecream).I am old enough to remember those days when streets were not lined with Baristas and CCDs and malls were something where Archie and his gang used to hang out.

(Interruption: Just as I am typing this, a friend of mine calls up and wants to meet for drinks at Hard Rock Cafe and I had to convince her to come to Toto’s πŸ™‚

However, compared to some people I know I should consider myself a miser .I know friends who have around fifty bags and maybe seventy shoes.And brag about it.These will be the same people (unfortunately most of them are females,I have to admit) who will have to have the best of everything else. Even when I was earning quite enough I never felt the need to own any labels.Now I am not suggesting a life of a hermit and neither do I lead one. I needed a car and I bought one- not the best,but one that will serve our purpose very well.But I just don’t get people who need to indulge in every thing. Its not like they fancy one kind of thing and will scrimp on the rest to splurge on the one thing they really like, perfumes for some and shoes for others.The problem starts when you have the urge to splurge on every possible luxury.My cousin saved hard to buy a digital SLR,she could ill afford, but photography is her passion and I haven’t seen her splurge on anything else as such.

This has been a sore point between me and the BF for quite sometime now.When we go to shopping malls its a role reversal for us.I have to keep track ofΒ  his shopping,and most of the time it is the gifts he buys for me. And if anyone says “How romantic” right now, I am going to bite your head off- and make you pay his credit card bills.

And to finally come to the reason for this post. I was cleaning up the house today and I found 6 unused/used only once hair conditioners (each of them almost 300 each),hair serum bottles of almost every brand.I know its a small thing,but this is not even the tip.I am ok with his buying new sneakers and paying 30,000 for the gym because I know he really loves gymming and is very regular with it.But spending some 800 INR on teeny bottle (30 ml 10ml,to be precise) of aroma-therapy oil for me when all I had I asked him to buy was a soap dish .His excuse was that he had forgotten what I wanted but vaguely remembered it had something to do with the bathroom.

Someday I will tell you about the shopping phenomenon and every marketing guy’s delight – My Mom.Legend has it that she managed to shop in the Paris airport during the layover- she can barely speak English and of course no French.

So my question to you is :

If you had the option of choosing only one thing, what is it that one non-basic thing/service, that you will never stop spending on?

Best answer gets a Aromathologia (what on earth is that anyway) Patchouli pure Essential Oil, an aphrodisiac (somebody sure isΒ  sleeping in the living room today) and AntiDepressant Sedative ( Yeah right baby).One Bottle.10ml.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2009 1:17 am

    erm… at the risk of being hit with a pointy-heeled shoe… i think u should keep the anti-depressant whatever! πŸ˜€

    now, to answer ur question… (see, i’m nice)… i would never stop buying my l’oreal eye pencil. i absolutely love it! the day i can’t afford that, i’ll believe i’m living in poverty.
    i think the husband would refuse to live without having at least 3 toothbrushes and 2 toothpastes. for HIM. exclusively. every month.

  2. Mike permalink
    March 3, 2009 2:06 am

    Just passing by.Btw, you website have great content!

    ______________________________
    Don’t pay for your electricity any longer…
    Instead, the power company will pay YOU!

  3. March 3, 2009 2:42 am

    I can relate to your spending habits. Pretty much the same with me. I splurge on things I crave for and actually need, not just about everything that’s supposedly “in”. Big fan of street shopping for clothes. Fake Gucci purses rule!:P Who cares as long as it looks good! Only thing I uselessly hoard at times is cosmetics. Just in the category of “creams”, I’ve a day cream, night cream, eye cream, hand cream, cold cream, foot cream, tinted cream,anti-wrinkle cream!! And not just in one brand! And I’m the type who is too lazy to even apply sunscreen!That’s the only useless expense. I rarely dine out. I’m ashamed to admit but I download movies too! I’m a student who is a movie buff and no source of income!
    As for the one thing I’d never give up on buying is books!! I’d spend my last penny on them too!

  4. kausiki permalink
    March 3, 2009 12:59 pm

    Cousin now saving up for a telephoto lens and a tripod…:)The cycle never ends.

  5. March 3, 2009 1:23 pm

    I am very interested to know WHAT your mother shopped for at the Paris airport. I knew I would be clueless at CDG shopping area but I was sure I wanted to shop for *something* that I can show-off later. So I took notes from a dear friend about the exact names and spellings of affordable (read cheap) wine, cheese, blah blah.. Go ahead, call me a loser. πŸ˜€

  6. March 3, 2009 1:31 pm

    And the one thing that I would always want to spend on is travel. I don’t mind if I don’t go to some exotic place, it can even be a trip to a gaon ka mela in a rickety bus. I don’t care much about air travel either, in fact I choose to avoid it, if there is an efficient train or a bus service. I love it that with a little imagination, you can travel a lot, within very low budgets. If I had to curb travel, I would feel very restricted.

    One more thing I love to spend on is silver jewellery. Nothing like those chunky dangling silver earrings to lift up my mood! It just makes me feel glamorous instantly. Sometimes when I am really low, I wear really fancy earrings at home and even go to bed with them on.

  7. lostonthestreet permalink
    March 3, 2009 9:43 pm

    @ reshma – As long as he doesn’t insist on diamond studded tooth brushes…
    @mayurakshi- same here and so I have decided to make sure I finish all the bottles and only then replenish.
    @blinkandmiss-silver jewellery?shopping in delhi must be heaven for you.
    @ cousin-kahi moha i xegun gos rui aase sinta nokoriba

  8. March 4, 2009 12:14 am

    that makes me SO glad we can’t afford diamond-studded toothbrushes! for all u know, he may want 3 of those! grr..!!

Leave a Reply

