Skip to content

The verdict is out

March 15, 2009

1) Rajasthani men have the most appealing eyes in the whole of India.I first noticed it on my trip to Pushkar and Jaisalmer, and Gulal just confirmed that

2) Men can look hot and straight with coloured lenses.Proof? Kay Kay Menon in Gulal. Though the one who stole my heart was Abhimanyu Singh who plays Rananjay, a prince who refuses to have anything to do with the royal kingdom.For most part of the film he is in brown chaddis.And I think he was hot in a very crude way, if you get what I am saying.

3)Nice guys end up with two women.

4) Gulal is one of the best movies  I have seen in recent times. Superb acting ,even by the small actors.

5) I wish I knew hindi better because I am certain I missed out on some bits of the undertones in the lyrics ,written by Piyush Mishra, who did a brilliant job as KK’s younger elderbrother.

And my favourite dialogue in the movie ?  “Law karne aaye ho?” Someone asks the hero (a newly arrived student at the ripe old age of 28) in a sarcasm dripping voice that can only be attained by one who has seen it all. That sentence,in Delhi University , holds a mirror to all those law students who join the course for a myriad of reason.Some to get a coveted hostel seat.Some use it as a stop gap arrangement for civils.For some it is the launching pad for a career in politics.And very frankly,for many other directionless students, it is just an option to try out. I apologise to all those who actually studied law in DU, rated one of the best in the country, for the love of it and made a career out of it, including a couple of my very good friends.But sadly, atleast in my times, they were a minority.

P.S.- I am on Page 2 of today’s Sunday Edition of  Hindustan Times Mumbai. I can let you think its a feature on me.Alas it is not that.Just that I went for a Bombay Heritage Walk and well being the prettiest in the group that they had no option. Wrong again.Though I occupied more space in the picture,with my huge mug,it was Sid and the guide who were somehow on the focus.There goes my 15 seconds of fame.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2009 12:21 am

    nice guys end up with two women. really??
    damn! i need to make sure vin’s not nice anymore. sigh.

  2. March 16, 2009 12:48 pm

    its on my watch list now 🙂

  3. kopili permalink
    March 16, 2009 4:20 pm

    Though Devdas still ranks on top of my list. Gulaal I liked mostly for KK and the Rajasthan factor, and the images of the desert/salt flats and the place where Dileep and Rananjay stayed, the hotel with the pyschedelic lights.
    PS: I loved Rananjay’s character too, why was he killed even before intermission? The movie kind of felt a little lukewarm after that. Thank God KK was killed in the end only.

  4. Anu permalink
    March 16, 2009 9:29 pm

    Have to watch gulaal now !

  5. March 16, 2009 11:53 pm

    Nice guys end up with two women.??? I hope mine is not so nice!!

  6. March 17, 2009 4:44 pm

    Yup nice guys end up with two women – their wife/ girlfriend and their mother 😛

Leave a Reply

