Skip to content

Where the hell am I?

March 31, 2009

And what am I upto ? Travelling. And writing about travelling. I have had a couple of articles published and few more lined up..

And as before, I can only  leave you with pictures for now.  For reasons of bread and butter  I am unable to do an actual post on my travels.As yet.

dscf3673

The Maldhari tribes, we were lucky to come across the few remaining families as most have migrated to Madhya Pradesh by now.

dscf36651

Donot let the smiles fool you. They demanded 500 Rs from us for clicking the picture and even started pulling at the camera. FYI, I asked for their permission before clicking. Finally gave them 20 Rs.Beeyatches.Oh it is so liberating to actually write exactly what I feel and not to get it mercilessly chopped off by some grumpy editor.

dscf3703

The wetlands of Little Rann of Kutch attract lots and lots (by which I mean  I have forgotten the names of most of them by now) of migratory birds. I can tell you what those above are not.These are not Flamingoes .Flamingoes are pink in colour,as everyone knows.

dscf3801

Blue Bulls (try repeating that 10 times in a row,real fast ).better known as Nilgais,and there were a few of them  JNU campus,where the myth goes that if you spot a Nilgai you are doomed to do your phd from JNU. I did. THree in a row in the stadium grounds. But then no triple Phd. for me.)

dscf3753

I always thought mirages meant a whole illusionary village will spring out and I will jump in a non-existent pool of water, and kick a very real Arab (all courtesy Tintin and the Land of Black Gold. They say Herge’ never travelled outside of his homeland. I totally believe that story now).

dscf4019

Our  jeep sinks in what looks like dry land but is nothing short of a quick sand.The cracked surface fooled even our trusted guide. Th Austrian guy with us went to the other side to get a better picture and learnt it the hard way,when he went in knee deep in squishy ,black ,goeey mud.And the only option he had was washing it off with sand water before the mud turned into hard cake.HAHAHA….come to think of it, it was goddamn hilarious.

dscf4064

And I had to don my superwoman cap to pull the jeep out and rescue all ..Another day in the office.

dscf3864

The Koobas at the fringe of the desert  , where we stayed.FYI, no fans.dscf4155

And these, my ornithologically-challenged friends, are them Flamingoes.dscf3793

(Equus hemionus roam the wilderness of Rann of Kutch. You can also call them Wild Asses)

dscf4035 (River of salt)

dscf3939

(It was lovely trampling over the pristine white salt  meant for domestic consumption. Would advise readers to go easy on the salt for now)

11 Comments leave one →
  1. March 31, 2009 5:10 pm

    Alright I am GREEN with jealousy now. I wanted to showoff my weekend trip to Mysore. And look what you have done. Send a link to those articles at least.

  2. March 31, 2009 5:21 pm

    all the pictures are just so amazing!!

  3. March 31, 2009 5:38 pm

    To make things worse. I have lived in Gujarat for 22 years and not ever been to Rann of Kutchch yet!!!!!!!! This post makes me want to do drown in chullu bhar paani.

  4. Anu permalink
    March 31, 2009 7:12 pm

    wow..the birds are amazing…nice pics…

  5. March 31, 2009 10:34 pm

    hey thanks for the comment on my blog..have no idea why you aren’t able to comment through wordpress. also, when i clicked on yours, it took me to another blog, not this one.

    btw, great pics,where is this place?

  6. me..dd permalink
    March 31, 2009 11:43 pm

    u look great..complete traveller:-)

  7. April 1, 2009 10:40 am

    Really nice pictures… :). I have to go to this place also sometime.
    LOTS : Go in the winters to enjoy the migratory birds

  8. April 1, 2009 11:14 am

    Wow…lovely pics babe. Looks like you guys had a wonderful time 🙂

    India has everything from deserts to snowtopped mountains to skiing – we really need to explore our entire country first before we go abroad 🙂

  9. April 1, 2009 1:17 pm

    I so envy you now! You’d been to some pretty amazing places. And I’m stuck with exams and studies for the next two years!

    Your travel pics and travelogues sure are a refreshing change for me, and every time I read them I spend a few happy moments planning my travels after this two year ordeal! The caves in Turkey started it all 🙂

  10. Kamala permalink
    April 1, 2009 10:56 pm

    Damn, girl! Did you get yourself some of them jewelery and some of them colorful clothes?

  11. lostonthestreet permalink
    April 2, 2009 6:17 pm

    @ blink : its ok.I am discovering North East now..but its never too late.go in the winters to Rann
    @Sukanya -Little Rann of Kutch,Gujarat
    @SMM- I totally agree..
    @QuirkyMon- Every bitch has her day??? 🙂
    @Kamala – You know me…Plus the only colours I wear are white,black or pastels..pretty dull huh..

Leave a Reply

