Skip to content

A Birthday and a few random conversations

May 7, 2009

Its Sid’s Happy Budday today..(Cue to wish him).

So the bday boy comes early last night, with the promise of taking me out for nice dinner (yes, things work differently out here, if you notice) . Till we were informed that the pub next door was offering free beer with every six,every four,every maiden over,every time Tendulkar grabs his ‘balls’ to adjust his guard.(Ok so they gave up the last one for fear of running out of beer).Sid’s colleagues from his last office were there right from the start of the match and they ended up with 92 (yes you read it right) extra bottles of beer. And frantic calls were made to everyone in the vicinity ,lest the free beer goes waste.

So we have free beer , all boy’s gang and IPL on one hand and evening with girlfriend on the other. I didn’t stand a chance, did I ?

We( sid, me and Trips) did have a nice classy dinner at KFC , a three course meal of healthy fried-to-death chicken,artery-clogging french fries and mayonnaise stuffed burger.

Random Conversation 1

Me, a couple of days before: So,what do you want for your bday.

Sid, watching the IPL : Nothing.

Me , glaring: Babbbyyy, what do YOU want for YOUR bday

Sid, putting the remote down : Oh, nothing . Don’t waste your money,sweets. Make me a nice lunch this Sunday, your special chicken curry .

Me : Ok 🙂

Sid , crisis averted: Back to watching  more ball grabbing by the Master Blaster.

Sid, 11.30 last night ,walking back from the match : Ummm, you atleast got a cake for me ,right?????

That WAS a close shave for me.

People should realise that I donot read between the lines.In my world, you get what you ask for.

Random Conversation 2

So Sid’s parents are here, and I am alone with them as the Bday boy had to go to office.

And as usual I lost the handbook on ‘Social Etiquettes for Dummies : What NOT to say to boyfriend’s parents’

Me : yada yada yada…my niece fell down and had to get 3 stitches.

S Mom : Oh..<insert appropriate response>. I remember Sid also had to get stitches on his head when he was two. Did you see the mark on his head,just above the neck.

Me* : Noooo, just because I sleep with your son doesn’t mean I will notice each and every mark on his sacred body.Besides, as you interact more with me, you will also notice how selfish and self-absorbent I can be.It took me 3 years to realise your son doesn’t take sugar with his tea.(This ,btw,was my startling discovery on the Bhutan trip.Travel does open up one’s mind). And that , I feel  is his fault,because on those (five) days when I did make tea for him, he never complained.

*thinking.

Me aloud : Umm..Ohhh..hehehe <silly grin>..Really?? Umm…

(So, this is how much I know about my live-in boyfriend of 3 years)

Me, to myself : Fuck, wrong answer. Quick ,get ready for next question. Agree to whatever she says.

S Mom : And one time he fell down from the cycle (was he a klutz or what – Me thinketh). He still has the mark on his inner thigh. (And points to upper thigh dangerously close to the region)

Me ,nodding vigorously: Yes, Yes , aunty. I SAW that.<big grin>

Oh I came out of that smooth and clear, didn’t I?

And this is within 3 hours of what will be a 5 day holiday for them.

I warned him not to let me loose, unaccompanied , in delicate social situations.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. blinkandmiss permalink
    May 7, 2009 5:56 pm

    ha ha ha.. trust you to live up to your image! this reminds me of the friends episode where phoebe goes to meet mike’s parents. 😀

    • lostonthestreet permalink
      May 7, 2009 11:31 pm

      except my boyfriend doesn’t have an apartment overlooking Central Park

  2. kausiki permalink
    May 7, 2009 6:48 pm

    U even forgot d cake?

    • lostonthestreet permalink
      May 7, 2009 11:32 pm

      No baba. (My friend called up to ask if she should get the cake, I said yes,but then felt guilty.)

  3. May 7, 2009 8:53 pm

    you crack me up 🙂
    nice start to my day

  4. sid permalink
    May 7, 2009 11:18 pm

    thx sweetie..i was secretly hoping for a post on my bday…love this one..completely cracked me…but a few corrections needed :-)…the count was 130 by the time we had left the pub…and WHEN did i ask for chicken curry on my bday :-)and no gitu ur sis didnt forget the cake..it was infact amazing and my favourite too..and she remembered that 🙂
    agree that u cannot be left alone with my parents after random conversation 2..didnt u ask them if they hv seen a mark on face from all the thrashings i get in kingston 🙂

    • lostonthestreet permalink
      May 7, 2009 11:33 pm

      I am cracking up a lot of people today, you stealer of other people’s phrases.

  5. Kamala permalink
    May 7, 2009 11:57 pm

    You need to marry this guy. Points for argument follow below:

    1. He said he wants NOTHING for his birthday. I guess that kinky store you went to in SF (without the knowledge of your older sis) was money well-spent. Because now he is fully satiated. (rolling eyes)

    2. He didn’t complain for 3 f^&*^ing years about the tea. Wow! (rolling eyes, eyebrows arched)

    3. He actually likes your cooking. (rolling eyes, eyebrows arched and rolling on the floor laughing)

    4. His parents didn’t wince when you acknowledged the scar. I am glad you didnt go ahead and divulge the scars on his cheeks from the whip you bought.(rolling eyes, eyebrows arched and rolling on the floor laughing, tears streaming down my face)

    5. He still wants to be with you despite of or in spite of free beer and cricket matches. (rolling eyes, eyebrows arched and rolling on the floor laughing, tears streaming down my face, this time for real)

    Happy Birthday, Sid! Keep sucking it up. I’d marry this woman if I was a man.

    • lostonthestreet permalink
      May 8, 2009 11:55 am

      the last line says it all baby. You mean “..if I WERE a woman” right???

      As for sex whips and all, I believe in doing it the natural way, no extraneous contraptions please,we are old-fashioned.

      • Kamala permalink
        May 9, 2009 12:00 am

        Beeaytch, I already told you to correct the was to were. But you refused to delete it afraid I wont put up the last line again.

  6. rayshma permalink
    May 8, 2009 12:01 am

    happy bday Sid… 🙂
    vin is still scared of leaving me alone with his mom!!! this, despite the fact that she really likes me! he thinks i’ll make her do all the housework and cook or something, i think… 😀

    • lostonthestreet permalink
      May 8, 2009 11:57 am

      Whaaat? Isn’t that what all mother’s are supposed to do.Ok,let me go get Sid’s mom from the kitchen..

  7. Sumedha permalink
    May 8, 2009 12:25 am

    Great great post….i’ve had my foot in my mouth a fair number of times while interacting with V’s Mom, so i completely empathize with you…Its good to know im not the only one.. ha!!

    Happy Birthday again Sid…

    • lostonthestreet permalink
      May 8, 2009 11:57 am

      I can only hope you didn’t start off with one of your terrible PJs.

  8. May 8, 2009 11:03 am

    Now the sis knows, thanks so much Kamala 🙂

    Whip and all, eh?

    • lostonthestreet permalink
      May 8, 2009 11:59 am

      Really Ba. Some posts are banned for family

  9. May 8, 2009 1:20 pm

    I agree…you need to marry this guy.

    Btw next time, suggest underwear shopping for the men as another bonding exercise with Sid’s mother, then pick up the bare minimum briefs in a wild jungle print, hold i out for the world to see and say ‘OOOohhh yeahh baby…I like this one’ or ‘Yeh to bada toing hai’

    Now that’s called a foot in the mouth – not the rest unless you start showing her your collection of whips and other racy stuff 😛

    • lostonthestreet permalink
      May 9, 2009 12:41 am

      Yeh to bada toing hai- hahaha…I love this line (whatever it means) and I am going out and creating situations so I can get to use it.
      Toingggggg!

Leave a Reply

