Skip to content

Small steps we are taking

May 9, 2009

Its rarely that I get to post under “In which I am happy category”. (Universe, I hope you are taking note)

Anyway  I got up and grumbled GMornmbbfft to Sid’s dad. He smiled and handed me the day’s paper ,turned to

thishttp://epaper.hindustantimes.com//artMailDisp.aspx?article=09_05_2009_543_003&typ=1&pub=264

And this is the part where I do the cartwheel and you congratulate me.(after you have read the link, of course)

My second travel article, that too on Hindustan Times, with fotu and all!!!!!!!

.I sent 3 profile pictures and of course they had to pick the worst one. I generally donot allow myself to be clicked when I have marbles in my mouth.

And we are not done yet.

So a friend called up to congratulate me on the article. I go “Thanks…but hey..how did you get it.That HT edition you won’t be getting in Guwahati”. And my friend goes “What HT? I am talking about Assam Tribune”….and then I did the cartwheel (mentally, in reality if I tried, I would be down with a broken nose, at the least)..So looks like I have another article of mine printed on Assam Tribune.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. May 9, 2009 3:28 pm

    Wow…Gypsy Feet? neat name babe.

    Btw is there actually a tribe called Chutia?

  2. May 9, 2009 3:29 pm

    Congratulationsssss…interesting article and you look quite decent n the profile photo 🙂

    Wow…Gypsy Feet? neat name babe.

    Btw is there actually a tribe called Chutia?

    • lostonthestreet permalink
      May 10, 2009 12:07 am

      yups. Yes I can hear the stiffled giggles!!!! hehehe

  3. sid permalink
    May 9, 2009 5:12 pm

    congratulations again :-)…hv already made the reservations at bbq nation for tonight..

    • lostonthestreet permalink
      May 10, 2009 12:08 am

      then how come we ended up having dinner at mainland china?

  4. May 9, 2009 7:39 pm

    And AT misspelt your name as well. But, congratulations!

    • lostonthestreet permalink
      May 10, 2009 12:09 am

      You mean HT? Nowadays I am surprised if anyone manages to spell my name correctly

  5. Galadriel permalink
    May 9, 2009 8:46 pm

    Congraychulasunsssssss….. You look different in the photo though. 🙂

    • lostonthestreet permalink
      May 10, 2009 12:09 am

      ahem..”diff”…cough cough…

  6. May 9, 2009 9:16 pm

    Okay…so your article came on Assam Tribune about the Turkey caves. After I saw the cave pics on your blog, I wanted to go there someday…and today morning I read about them again. I didn’t know you wrote the article, so I thought “This must be a very popular tourist destination. Everyone’s visiting it”. 🙂

    • lostonthestreet permalink
      May 10, 2009 12:10 am

      yeah that’s me. Again I beg you not to judge me by that article:-)

  7. May 10, 2009 10:27 am

    Lovely! Congratulations!
    Now post the one on AT, if its bad, we will blame it on bad editing!

    My dentists name was Dr.Chutiya. Of course mum told us “sootiya’ was the right pronunciation but guess what we preferred.

    • lostonthestreet permalink
      May 10, 2009 11:10 pm

      Sootiya..that’s such an assamese way of pronouncing ‘ch’. ..:-)

  8. May 10, 2009 7:57 pm

    Read your article with as much curiosity as a non-North-East’erner (love this language, allows me to twist and fuck it whenever I don’t remember the right word) would…cept for that bit on Apong…

    Sitting here in Teleguland (if you know what i mean) it felt like a sharp shaft through my heart. AAuch

  9. May 10, 2009 10:59 pm

    Miss Jean? Don’t tell me you went to St Mary’s too!

    • lostonthestreet permalink
      May 10, 2009 11:12 pm

      Ha ha ha .It indeed is a small world..and to think I used the first name that came to my mind..though Ms debahuti khargharia would have been more appropriate,no?

  10. blinkandmiss permalink
    May 11, 2009 1:36 pm

    Whoa!!!!! Congratulations congratulations!! I never knew you went ahead and started a “boutique travel firm” (don’t know what exactly that means, but definitely sounds cool. 🙂 ). AND it’s called Gypsy Feet! Such a cool name that.

    And I think I have seen you! Will mail.

  11. Anu permalink
    May 11, 2009 3:59 pm

    Hey,

    I did like the photo which came on HT article, don’t know why you didn’t like it. And of course of the good looking monk !

Leave a Reply

