Skip to content

A breather

May 19, 2009

Us, having an adult conversation

Me : I don’t ever ever ever want kids.I hope you have thought about it

S (obviously he hasn’t,he doesn’t even remember when we ever had the conversation in the past) :Of course I have..

Me : Anddddddd..???

S :Andd what?

Me : Well do you?

S : Well we can adopt one

Me: You mean you can adopt one. I don’t want kids – adopted ,cesarean, vaginal or whatever. I donot want the responsibility of another human being

S : Fine, I will take care of it (Exactly his usage of the subject pronoun)

Me : I hope you master the art of breast-feeding

S ( not trying too hard to hide the smirk) : It’s an adopted kid remember?

Touche!!!

S : And I will hire a maid and a nanny for the kid!!!!

And just like that,ladies and gentleman, we have awarded ourselves the world’s worst virtual parents.

You can very well replace kid with dog/fancy gizmo/plant and the conversation might just make more sense.

And you may NOT ask the background for this conversation.

**************************************************

The latest mail on my facebook inbox

Not So Random Stranger(not so random since we do have one acquaintance in common) ;hi. randomly found you profile. is it you mimlee? from tezpur?

Me : Unfortunately no.

N S R S : well what the heck! atleast i got a chance to exchange a couple of messages with a excellent lady as yourself.

Me : Riggghttt. What a co incidence, sweetheart.And I am just waiting for a similar co-incidence to meet George Clooney!!

So I assume by now all of you have clicked on the facebook page ,right? Good.If you think this is harassing, you should see what I do to all those people on my Gtalk.Now is just not a good time to chat with me,unless your conversation begins with “So whats new “.And now I have an answer to that.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2009 2:21 pm

    Well tell Sid he’kl still have to spend sometime with the kid once in a while and not leave ‘it’ to the fancies of the maid or the whole point of adopting ‘it’ is lost

    • lostonthestreet permalink
      May 22, 2009 11:06 am

      Maybe he just wants a new gadget

  2. May 19, 2009 5:36 pm

    LOL@ I hope you are good at the art of breast feeding!
    Maybe hire George Clooney as nanny?

  3. Kamala permalink
    May 20, 2009 12:39 am

    I am loving this. You are going to be swallowing all your words in a few years and I am going to incessantly harass you with these posts.

    • lostonthestreet permalink
      May 22, 2009 11:07 am

      Maybeee adoption.Maybe.Just maybe

  4. blinkandmiss permalink
    May 20, 2009 2:48 pm

    I second Kamala. It WILL happen, you are so going to eat your words. It’s just a matter of time. MUWAHAHAHA.

    • lostonthestreet permalink
      May 22, 2009 11:07 am

      Thus says all mothers:-)

  5. May 20, 2009 6:25 pm

    it eh?? best virtual parents ever!!

    • lostonthestreet permalink
      May 22, 2009 11:07 am

      I know, wonder where I go to collect my award

  6. Anupa permalink
    May 21, 2009 3:59 am

    Thankfully the Partner is as unwilling to raise a child as I am. So this conversation hardly ever happens with us. Although, how do you convince people that its “ok” for a woman not to want to be a mother?? I just get smiles and dialogues like “we’ll see!” ..

    • lostonthestreet permalink
      May 22, 2009 11:08 am

      If it comes to that, I will fake that I have a medical problem and the doc advised me against pregnancy.It might prove fatal for me.

  7. May 29, 2009 6:40 am

    Sorry, I am finding your blog very interesting and since Rules 2.0 says go ahead and comment here I go again 🙂 I was very skeptical about having a child, but wasn’t against it though. So I was happy that we didn’t have a child till 7 years of being married and I kept telling my wife we should adopt though I wasn’t really serious. But then this girl, Nishka, was born last year. But by then I had read the 80/20 book and also Dr. Spock’s book on children too 🙂 I wouldn’t say that things changed drastically about my view about kids, but I would say that it is an experiment worth trying! And as long as you don’t expect too much from it and get too worked up about it, it can be enjoyed! The 80/20 book helped me rid my guilt about myself not being able to do what I wanted to do in life and Dr. Spocks helped me understand the baby – why is she moaning like she is doing most of the time! But I have to say I am just the 3rd party in this relationship, the primary one is between the mother and the baby. So it is easy to stay back and analyze things a bit rather than having worked up a bit.

    I realize that I don’t have to be sorry here(ref Rules 2.0:), so go get that 80/20 book, get rid of your guilty feelings, have kids and enjoy life ever after:)

    BTW, I thought I wasn’t sleeping well days because Nishka was not sleeping through the night, but she is fast asleep in our new mosquito net and I am as usual up early and can’t complain about her mother not listening to what Dr.Spock said in the book as well:) And can’t go out running also since I have a flu:)

    • lostonthestreet permalink
      May 29, 2009 8:09 pm

      Ok but if the experiment goes horribly wrong and even after I have a baby, and I fail to like it?? That would put me in quite a spot,no?

  8. Rati permalink
    August 14, 2009 4:19 pm

    was just going thru ur old posts..bitch-this was a lie??

    “Having to rush to Guwahati because your mom has suddenly fallen sick and needs to be transported to Hyd for operation because your dad is out of station and you are the only one in the family, is what I call an average excuse.Usually I am out of the office, by the time I even get to the end of that sentence.”

    LOL!!!! u are awesome!!!if i tell sandy this probably he will not love u anymore..poor chap-still thinks u were this nice confused female-who needed a lot of his love and support!!!will contact u for any kind of excuses going forward..

  9. Rati permalink
    August 14, 2009 4:24 pm

    oh btw my previous comment was not for this post but for-“What I write about when I write about writing”..the comment link should be after the post is over no and not before..

Leave a Reply

