Skip to content

WordPress asked me to Add New Post.So I did.

July 18, 2009

I realised its been ages I wrote a random post- one that makes one of my bro-in-law’s friend ask him “Is she that irritating in real life?”.(This is true story btw). Hi there, I am worse! 🙂

My blog stats (It’s funny how I switched from Sensex charts to blogrreadership  charts) show a sudden zoom to almost 300 readers (laugh all ye of 1000 readers per minute club, just you wait ) per day since the past 2 weeks. Unfortunately, it was not a sudden realisation of my budding literary genius but the fact that if you google  for   “Ellen DeGeneres” and “Meg Ryan” images ,my blog is one of the first links to be thrown up. Whatever.

Have gained 4 kilos, maybe 2 of it, thanks to un-shaved limbs and under arms .Too much information? Too bad.

Getting lots of responses for the Bhutan trip, including from some really interesting people,so it’s going to be fun!! To keep the group size to a manageable number, we are planning to instead increase the number of trips. So if you are interested ,mail me.I might temporarily take shelter here –

photo_lg_bhutan (That will be me,blogging next to the window. Disclaimer : Pic not taken by me)

And, if I haven’t mentioned it enough, my travel article on Cappadocia is out in this month’s issue of Marie Claire. The last 4 pages, if you lack the time to flip through the magazine. None of my friends/relatives/acquaintances bothered to buy the magazine,of course. “Too costly”,shrieked one. “Marie what ?”,asked the other.”But, isn’t that the abortion clinic in Delhi”.No, my ignorant fool of a friend that’s Marie Stopes .One friend offered “to  try and read it from the stand…if i find an unsealed copy”!!! No one has yet offered to steal it from waiting rooms/lobbies etc. <hint,hint>.

And then, these same friends ask me if I have joined the Great Driving Challenge .Nay, they in fact assumed I have enrolled for it.For those of you, who have not yet been gently reminded ,ad nauseum, by friends and friends of friends to vote for them- this is basically a driving cum blogging competition .AND most importantly, your selection to the final round(where you actually get to do the driving and blogging) depends on the votes you garner for yourself – through friends, social networking sites etc. So what is of essence here is POPULARITY.Something,which I clearly lack. My friends like to see me begging.

And oh , here is a sample from one of the strong contestants ,Joges Bhai …

Hi !!! We are Jogesh & Rupali from Rajkot (Gujarat). We have known each other for a long time…almost twelve years… We both are Computer Engineers and used to be the class mates. We met in collage and fortune led us to the great journey called “LIFE” accompanying each other and have been happy ever since. We are GOD gifted a 2.5 years old cute & lovely baby boy. I’ve been crazy for driving and travel ever since childhood. I’ve been on the road for more than 4 lac k.m. self drive across the nation. I don’t know the parameters for deciding the BEST but we are definetly GREAT candidates for this challenge because we are adventourous…. . I am no doubt one of the craziest car maniacs. My highest speed of driving is 195 k.m. per hr. And I’ve set the record of earliest as well as most delayed Ahmedabad – Bombay drive. My fastest drive for Ahmedabad – Bombay was 6 hrs. 25 mins. and slowest drive was more than 18 hrs. My longest non-stop drive was 17 hrs without breatk & without food in my first car (i.e. Maruti 800)…(sic)

For the record, Jogesh Bhai is one of the top contestants with a vote bank of 2,737.

Democracy doesn’t really work always, does it?

Some of you might say “You should not laugh at other people.Atleast they are attempting. ” To which I shall say ” Fuck you, you prick.Laughing at others is my birthright and I shall exercise it”.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2009 11:19 pm

    Hehehe.. now I am going over to vote for Jogesh Bhai, and his ‘God gifted’ 2.5 year old!! Sad that we had to work towards something that other people get as gifts 😉

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      July 20, 2009 11:41 pm

      Are you sure you are “crazy for driving” enough? 🙂

  2. Your Bro-in-law’s friend permalink
    July 20, 2009 3:46 am

    Your bro-in-law should be sued for misrepresentation. I believe the word I’d used was ‘annoying’, not ‘irritating’. 🙂

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      July 20, 2009 11:44 pm

      My bro-in-law also has this irritating habit of giving crank calls from his own mobile and posting comments as someone else, using his own mail id. :-/

  3. July 21, 2009 1:07 am

    hey i wasnt tagged..i stole the tag from someone else…:-)

  4. Kamala permalink
    July 21, 2009 1:55 am

    Why would watch this when you have Rakhi ka swayamar?

  5. liza permalink
    July 22, 2009 11:01 am

    hey k..
    remember me? liza here. v joined genpact 2gether. along with mamta, morvi etc etc.
    saw ur gypsy travels blog from the mad momma’s blog and was pleasantly surprised 🙂
    so how u doing and where r u now?

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      July 22, 2009 11:43 am

      Hey how have you been. Am good.travelling all over,currently in Mumbai!!
      What are you upto.

      • liza permalink
        July 22, 2009 4:15 pm

        am in dell now. still doing the same old boring analytics and sas 🙂 was all fired up after reading ur blog… it takes a lot of guts to chuck ur job and do something close to ur heart. cheers!
        btw i also have a blog. mostly stuff abt my kid 🙂
        http://www.mowglitales.blogspot.com

  6. October 25, 2009 4:12 pm

    Wonderful work

  7. November 9, 2009 7:18 pm

    Could you spare me a moment? buy cheap nolvadex http://www.stumbleupon.com/stumbler/med-brother/ buy cheap nolvadex online My congratulations to you!

    How are you? buy nolvadex without prescription buy cheap generic nolvadex online
    buy cheap nolvadex online My congratulations to you!

Trackbacks

  1. Posts about Blogging as of July 18, 2009 | MelaniedeJonge.com

Leave a Reply

