Skip to content

My first jab at erotica

July 26, 2009

It wasn’t really tough at all.I just had to send my travel article to one of Mumbai’s better known Tabloids and they did the rest.And trust them to do their best.Apparently  the article which I titled ‘An afternoon soaked in luxury ‘,was not titillating enough for the editor,so they renamed it to, hold your breath, ‘Fist Class Massage’.

Now, I don’t really know what to make of the title.Was it a typo? Or was that some kind of a pun. If you are like me,your dirty mind will wander in the right direction.Hold that thought. The article is  just a recount of my experience of a Haman in Turkey.

Of course, it is beneath editors to tell you when they are going to publish your article (and if they are!!). So, it is left to good old friends to call and  thank me for giving them their daily dose of humour.

And believe it or not, for a change,  my entire name was spelt correctly .Yes, NOW you get the name,right.Just so that there is no doubt, who could have written that piece on  fisting .

23 Comments leave one →
  1. July 26, 2009 8:42 pm

    i read it in mumbai mirror today and knew it was you. you have developed your own style and dont really need a byline anymore 🙂

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      July 27, 2009 9:40 am

      Really? Are you telling me cheap erotica is my style 🙂 !But I will twist your comment into a compliment .
      AND,what IS a byline? I keep hearing it so often, I figured , its something I ought to know,soon.

      • July 27, 2009 9:00 pm

        i am not good with compliments but let me tell you there are but a distinguished few who can claim to be recognised by their own style… prominent among them being salman rushdie, salinger and so on.
        a byline, quite simply, is the writer’s name that appears with the article 🙂

  2. July 27, 2009 12:59 am

    I read it! Really well written! 🙂

    But I must confess, I laughed for a while at the title “First class Massage”. Reminded me of these pamphlets that were distributed by thai girls on the streets of phuket and one girl tried to persuade my dad to go in for a “First class massage”! Hahaha 😀

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      July 27, 2009 9:41 am

      And now, more people are clicking on my link up to ‘fisting’ than to my article.I like my discerning readers.

  3. July 27, 2009 5:29 am

    Okay so facebook is amazing!
    Did you know that you and I are connected by a common friend?!!?!

    (No i’m not stalking you, I swear. I am just too free!)

    But hey, isn’t that amazing? Who would’ve thought! Unless ofcourse I got the wrong person, then I’ll be super embarassed! 😛

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      July 27, 2009 9:44 am

      Really??? Wow. Why don’t you add me.Or tell me the name of the common friend , and I will know if you got the right me.

  4. July 27, 2009 9:54 am

    Common friend would be Ajay Sunder.

    Does he sound like someone you know?

  5. Devlina permalink
    July 27, 2009 11:43 am

    yo woman! way to go….the article rocks! ur gonna be the female Ian Wright if you continue in whirlwind First Class Massage trips around the world!
    Just make sure u begin to start eating local cuisine too! Esp for your trips to China and her brethen.
    Bon apetit!

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      July 27, 2009 10:47 pm

      What is China and her brethen???

  6. July 27, 2009 4:51 pm

    hey hope plans are underway to get a dedicated domain/hosting for gypsy feet site.

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      July 27, 2009 10:48 pm

      oh yes,definitely.A few days and it will be up and running.I hope people are visiting that site 🙂

  7. Anu permalink
    July 27, 2009 9:14 pm

    “Haman in Turkey” is a typo too ! Stupid editor anyway !

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      July 27, 2009 10:52 pm

      WAit,hope she doesn’t land here.Haven’t got the cheque as yet for this one 😉

  8. Anupa permalink
    July 28, 2009 2:50 am

    well.. ‘fist class massage’ definitely brings to mind more vibrant imagery than ‘An afternoon soaked in luxury’ 😉

    That aside, is it legal to change the title to whatever they please without informing you??

    Nice writing, of course.. as always! 🙂

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      July 28, 2009 12:35 pm

      Editors are God,they can do anything.
      Thanks ,btw!!

  9. July 28, 2009 2:35 pm

    I couldnt read the article.. I got a page not found error 😦 I did look up fisting though.. hehe!! 😉 as for the title.. I am sure “first class massage” will get more people to dig deeper.. if they will be happy with what they find .. remains to be seen 😀

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      July 28, 2009 5:59 pm

      Of course you would…with your last two lines you just took the discussion to another level altogether-if you get the drift 😉
      p.s. – the link seems to be working fine for me here.else its in the e-paper of mumbai mirror on sunday.

  10. July 30, 2009 9:09 pm

    Loved the article 🙂
    Though I dont expect TOI to make lame puns, I am sure it was a spelling error 😉

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      July 31, 2009 10:13 am

      One can only hope for that…:-)

  11. August 3, 2009 11:48 pm

    Forgive the editor who thought he had a sense of humnour and dared to denigrate your writing my dear friend…he knows not what he has done

  12. Dileep permalink
    August 14, 2009 7:02 pm

    Those editors, eh? I confess though that in a decade of writing, I’ve never had a headline mangled to that effect. 🙂

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      August 18, 2009 10:06 am

      You write?Cool.Where?
      As for the title,sigh,that’s my dumb luck

Leave a Reply

