Skip to content

Karma bites me in the ass.

August 30, 2009

It seems that a waiter in one of Mumbai’s fine Italian joints , Mangi Ferra ,    has read this post and decided to strike back with a vengeance. True to my self , I simply rounded off the bill for the tip (I was already charged 12.5% as service tax).Let’s say it was ‘hypothetically’, 74 Rs.

AND today morning , I got an sms from my bank  saying they have deducted 740 Rs. over and above the bill.See that extra Zero at the end?

Yes, these things do happen and they happen to me. Of course, I am hopping mad now.

Btw, this service of ICICI of smsing me every time I make a transaction has saved me innumerable times. For example, the time the idiot at the parlor, swiped my card twice, assuring me that the first time it didn’t go through.Guess what? It did .Twice. Or the time at the toy shop where guy at the counter supposedly canceled my transaction, since it was taking a lot of time.Fifteen minutes after I stepped out of the shop ,having paid the required amount by cash, I get an sms saying the said amount has been deducted.

Do weird things like this happen to you.Please tell me it does. I do not want to be devil’s favoured child.

What else have you guys been upto? Blogging here has been quite slow -because I am busy chasing down errant bills and over inflated tips.

Besides, without a job (and quirky co-workers to make fun of) and a baby (and milestones to record), what should a person blog about?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2009 7:08 pm

    Oh yup happened to me too quite a few time. Once I paid for two movie tickets at one of the malls where the guy told me it was 310 bucks for two tickets. He swiped my card for 3100 – can you beat that? Of course I marched over to the manager and he refunded the balance to me immediately.

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      August 30, 2009 9:57 pm

      These things happen to lawyers also? 🙂

      • August 31, 2009 1:46 pm

        Onetime it also happened tht I withdrew 4500 bucks from the ATM but it dispensed only 4100. I’m still waiing for my balance 400 from the Bank

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      September 1, 2009 12:08 am

      Yeah, as i mentioned, these are like those border line cases.Enough to piss you, but not enough to break one’s head over!!

  2. Galadriel permalink
    August 30, 2009 8:58 pm

    question: do you manage to recover your money in these situations?

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      August 30, 2009 9:54 pm

      Ans :yes, as of now,atleast.!

  3. August 31, 2009 11:35 pm

    You should sue them or something.

    I had also heard it said once that credit card companies dont accept tips of over 10% (or was it 15?) on the bill. I guess your experience proves it’s not true.

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      September 1, 2009 12:06 am

      Well, they said they would return it.Lets see.But its one of those amounts-not big enough to waste one’s time on.Still, a loss for no fault of mine. 😛

  4. Anupa permalink
    September 1, 2009 12:24 am

    Hell yeah! And you need to get it back atleast for the principle of it. Sometimes it just feels like too much hassle for too little an amount. And I have been guilty of letting it go just to avoid all the inconvenience. 😦

    Glad you got it back though.

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      September 1, 2009 10:05 pm

      Not yet.But they promised they would.

  5. September 1, 2009 11:43 am

    They charged you 740…ahhhthis is …
    Aryan’s Mom

  6. Anu permalink
    September 1, 2009 4:56 pm

    Lesson learned long back never add the tip amount to the bill manually if you are not paying service tax..pay the bill by card but pay the tip by cash (if you want to pay at all)..hopefully saves time calling those dumb customer care people ! Good that you got the money back.

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      September 1, 2009 10:06 pm

      Oh yes, I think you gave me that ‘tip’ long time back…Guess was too lazy to take out the cash.

  7. September 19, 2009 4:05 am

    “I simply rounded off the bill for the tip” – love that.

    Wifey and I are due to return to India in a couple of months or so, and will be glad to get this tipping nonsense behind us. We’ve been actively asked for a tip in places here (and none too politely).

    Need to get back to simply “rounding off the bill”!

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      September 21, 2009 12:57 am

      Come back soon, we need to start a petition against this nonsense

Leave a Reply

