Skip to content

There is hope for me yet..

September 24, 2009

Though I think that is NOT what the soap maker meant.Dove started the Dove Self-Esteem Fund. It purports to be “an agent of change to educate and inspire girls on a wider definition of beauty and to make them feel more confident about themselves”.

Cruel Question (and the winner gets a dove soap “the moisturising cream” as they call themselves):

On a beauty scale of 1 to 10,how do you ,honestly, rate yourself. No point being modest ,right?

And please, I donot want to know your inner beauty.I am talking about looks that have helped create a favorable first impression, looks that have helped you charm your way out of a murder.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. September 24, 2009 9:03 pm

    Warning! Guy here intruding onto girl talk…

    Just to note, the French government passed a bill a couple of days ago saying that all pictures which have touched up models such as the one shown in the video must have a disclaimer next to them mentioning that it’s been touched up – prominently.

    Also, I must say that I’m flabbergasted by the nonsensical fascination with white skin in India. If the features are right, dark women are simply gorgeous 🙂 (same for fair ones of course). But we hate dark colors so much, we even paint Hindu Gods blue!

    So let me ask – is it the men who want fair women, or do women themselves want to be fair? Either way, allow me to suggest – don’t change your color. Be proud and dark!

    IMHO brands like Fair and Lovely should go out of business. Frankly, their ads are insulting. How can women put up with it? I mean wtf – If I were a woman and someone told me my skin color isn’t “good enough” and that to have men fall all over me, it has to change, I don’t know what I would splutter in rage…

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      September 25, 2009 9:45 am

      Why would asking someone about their looks be girl talk? 🙂 Its a simply enough question -How you rate yourself in terms of looks?.I know guys who spend a fortune on good suits and fancy shoes…and women who wouldn’t be bothered with a parlour..
      Frankly, I donot know the answer to your question.Because if there is anything I like about myself,physically, it is my skin colour.Though it is true I got compliments on my skin colour more from non-indians (read white caucasian males) than indians.My romanian room mate in college envied my ‘honey complexion’ as she called it.Thankfully there are many like me.Dark Skinned woman who have absolutely no issues with their complexion.That said, I was the butt of all family jokes,when I was a kid.

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      September 25, 2009 9:46 am

      And ahem…you still haven’t answered my question 🙂

  2. September 25, 2009 10:16 am

    My mistake. I just assumed “beauty” would be a more appropriate phrase for a woman.

    With regard to the answer, the problem is this (don’t worry, I’ll give an answer!). One a scale of 1 to 10, if I view 10 as an abstract “good looking” vision, then I would place myself in the 70th percentile – based on observations of someone close to me and making all allowances for said person being blinded 🙂

    However, if I view “10” as a concrete person – someone whom women say is extremely good looking – shall we say Brad Pitt, or George Clooney, then I would place myself very low. Say 3 on 10.

    However, if we assume a normal distribution of “good” looks, then I would place myself in the first deviation above the mean – basically μ + σ .

    Finally, I’m completely hopeless when it comes to evaluating men’s looks. Guys whom I thought were nothing great or downright ugly have been acclaimed as sexy by women I know. From what I see, women can find anything attractive. You name it – hair on chest (or lack of it), height (or lack of it), hair on face (or lack of it), youth (or lack of it) – and there’s a woman who finds it sexy.

    So apart from the three estimates of my looks as given above, I’m also freaking clueless!

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      September 25, 2009 12:16 pm

      See you almost won yourself a whole carton of Dove products…But for inclusion of the standard deviation formula.
      You are right about woman finding just about anything sexy..Why else would woman drool over old,bearded profs,who havent had a hair cut since their college days…
      P.S.- On second thoughts,you might get to share the goody bag with your wife.

  3. Anupa permalink
    September 25, 2009 10:46 am

    Ahem…ok.. completely ignoring the comments above from the geeky person who is totally unknown to me ……..

    First off, awesome campaign Dove has going on.

    Second – to your question. Honestly? I dont know… I’d say 4 or 5. But I’ve been told that there’s more than mere physical beauty that goes into getting away with murder. And I think if it comes down to it, I might ALMOST get away with it… almost! 😉

    But no, on the first impression, I dont think I win any brownie points based on my looks.

    The lives some of us lead…sigh! 😛

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      September 25, 2009 12:18 pm

      You ARE right.I stand corrected.Sometimes its more than looks that count to get awawy with murder (mea culpa).
      And I manage to create BAD first impression.and second..and third..
      Why is the ‘geeky person totally unknown to you’ throwing statistics and statistics at me.Tell him, that scares me.Reminds me of my Graduate school.

  4. September 25, 2009 5:40 pm

    Looks hmm….I will give myself at 2 or 3?

    I am fat, almost obese, but I believe I carry myself well. Dont have a great complexion – not speaking of fair or dark – just good and healthy skin – no not me there. But the 2-3 points are because at least 5 people I know have told me I have beautiful eyes. Yaay.

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      September 25, 2009 10:14 pm

      Oh come on.I saw your profile pic..Don’t be modest now 🙂

  5. Rati permalink
    September 25, 2009 6:01 pm

    damn..the first comment on this post reminds me of my stats classes in college..normal distribution and sigma events!!!what the hell..so not like kongki’s blog!!!

    and yes i would give myself ummmmm 8/10..or is it too high a rating kongki?

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      September 25, 2009 10:15 pm

      That’s more like it baby!!! Babes you rate yourself….so no asking questions, right?

  6. September 25, 2009 8:18 pm

    i rank myself at a 5, in terms of looks. coupled with attitude, i’d say i’m an 8. and in my opinion, looks & attitude, both coupled may help me get away with murder. 😉
    i should try it sometime… i do have a long list to help me get started…

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      September 25, 2009 10:16 pm

      List to murder? Get started soon,woman..No point procrastinating these things.

      • September 28, 2009 8:56 pm

        yeah… i should, no? but well… i can’t afford flying down to india for that… :-/
        talk of being poor! gah!

  7. September 25, 2009 10:36 pm

    i would give myself a 4-5 …i have sharp features but an ugly skin….and my idea of beauty is flawless, poreless , acnefree skin

    if there ever is a procedure where ones facial skin can be replaced – id be the first one to get it done! believe me…i am so friggin’ tired of dealing with my skin..

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      September 25, 2009 11:58 pm

      oh damn,we should trade- or get some mad scientist to do our genetic mutation.With your sharp features and my acnefree skin, we got a future..:-)

  8. Kamala permalink
    September 25, 2009 11:57 pm

    5.5 – just above the average mark 🙂

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      September 26, 2009 12:00 am

      BIG ‘FAT’ LIAR.coming from an ex-model!! Harumph…Oh well actually my question was how YOU rate YOURSELF.not how the whole world perceives you..

  9. September 26, 2009 5:31 pm

    I would say 4-5!

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      September 26, 2009 5:32 pm

      Tripti Sethiiii..:-) why is everyone sticking to the safe 4-5?

      • September 27, 2009 2:22 pm

        There is a reason why I don’t leave my name in the comment-meanie:)

  10. September 26, 2009 7:21 pm

    Dove is a Unilever brand which also makes all kinds of fairness creams.I take all their campaigns with a pinch of salt.
    The more I worked in fashion, the higher i started rating myself in terms of beauty. I mean, I can look more than presentable without make up and a battalion of assistants doing my face hair and clothes. Based purely on looks I give myself a whopping 7 ..I could even reach a 10 with some photoshop and make up 😉 …and ummm healthy eating.

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      September 27, 2009 4:46 pm

      June I lost my bag..boo hoo..bad things are happening to me..Helpppppppppp

  11. tearsndreams permalink
    October 2, 2009 2:21 am

    I think I am a 5. Just about average. I don’t think I am ugly. I don’t think I have killer looks. And there might be some people who have a certain type who might get inclined to give me a 6. Never a 7.
    That’s my self evaluation. Now can I send you my picture to get yours.
    I am a girl BTW and straight 🙂 but I am so sure about my evaluation that now I want to know if the other people view me differently.

  12. tearsndreams permalink
    October 2, 2009 2:23 am

    And oh you inspired me to do a post on men I find sexy. I recently realized I have a type. And it hasn’t changed in 16 friggin years

  13. October 11, 2009 4:54 pm

    🙂

Leave a Reply

