Skip to content

Want to know why I am an atheist?

September 27, 2009

I dressed up in saree (with the help of youtube and when I nearly strangled myself with the pallu  I ran to the next door aunty) and visited one pandal,ate  mutton chops (slurp),drove to Oh Calcutta for a sumptuous buffet.Deliberated on going to the next pandal,but the ‘religious’ soul that I am,I  dragged the others ,and drenched in sweat we had a dekko at Durga Ma.

We came back to the car to see this :

DSCF0586

Yes, some M%%&^%&^%&^ saw my bag,which I foolishly left on the  shotgun seat ,smashed the window and ran off with the bag.

I don’t know who had the worse luck- the thief (who found just a cheap mobile and a half used perfume bottle for all his efforts) or me(lost all my phone contacts plus a broken window).And the bag itself,a smart Hidesign bag which,most importantly, was the last gift of a very dear friend of mine.Someone who pampered me no end-I just had to eye something and he would buy it for me,and he was not even a boyfriend and used to earn as much as I did …(Wow,Am I materialistic or what-the last line just proved it!)

Sid ,of course, thought the thief would have a more expensive phone than mine.Sometimes, I think god put him in my life to temper my pessimism with his overdose of optimism and cheerfulness.Once he got to know that the car window shield is NOT exactly going to cost a bomb, he went back to mull over more important things- like India’s defeat in Champion’s Trophy (is it?) last night.

Dear readers in Mumbai ,incase you see some shady character loitering the streets of Andheri with a Hidesign bag and a cheap Nokia phone,reeking of Nina Ricci, thump his head for me.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 27, 2009 7:59 am

    Tough luck. Was it a crowded area? Meaning did the thief break the window with all the time in the world?

    And did you register a complaint with the police? (Forgive the questions – we live vicariously to spruce up our boring lives… 🙂

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      September 27, 2009 9:38 am

      Oh if you like these kind of stories, as you should just hang around me.Its almost a regular occurrence.I have been to a police station 6 times till now..:-)
      IT was not really a crowded area.But I don’t think the thief had all the ime in the world,coz he left a camera and a i pod behind

  2. September 27, 2009 11:09 am

    Hmmm.. what an ending to an otherwise lovely evening. The mobile may be cheap, but the bag and perfume were not, and the car window to top it. Don’t you keep the wallet in your bag? What irritates me more is the hassle of getting the number blocked, and the credit/debit cards and procuring new ones. I guess I am not helping.. lets just think of the camera and the ipod. And what about a picture in the saree 🙂

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      September 27, 2009 6:17 pm

      No.For some inexplicable reason, I took the wallet out at the last moment- which had n number of cards,PAN car,Driver’s Licence etc.When!!
      IS this picture more “smashing” than a plain boring pic of me in a saree?

  3. September 27, 2009 1:05 pm

    So yet another phone lost :D. Number’s on the way, by mail.
    And pray tell me, what is “athiest” ?

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      September 27, 2009 1:33 pm

      the spell check doesn’t work in the titles 😛 damn.

  4. Vivid permalink
    September 27, 2009 9:04 pm

    The smiley in your mail had me trembling with trepidation and lo!

    Emotional roller coaster of a post,awesome!

    Reminds me of the line, “Jo kho gaya main usko bhulata chala gaya” 🙂

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      September 29, 2009 1:18 am

      you and hindi songs??? unbelievable.

  5. September 28, 2009 4:27 pm

    Oh well, so long as noone’s hurt and you didn’t have to run around blocking cards. Btw where ‘s the sari pic?

    I am supposed to be getting ready & all dressed up for sindoor khela but I’m just feeling plain lazy right now. Abd ugh I have to get back to delhi & work tomorrow 😦

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      September 29, 2009 1:06 am

      Sari pic on fb..That too because I was ‘tagged’ by a friend in his album.
      I hope Cal is not as muggy as Mumbai is right now.By the end of it,I actually wanted to strangle myself in the sari,for being idiotic enuf to wear it on such a hot humid day

  6. September 29, 2009 1:49 pm

    HOOO…poor poor car window….all smash and broken…
    well it’s the festivities after all….all the gods are conspiring…..they have to take some some to give to other…else how will the yin balance the yang?

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      September 29, 2009 5:51 pm

      aah,that explains it all.I guess I am paying for somebody’s good luck.Just wished it were the other way round,just for once 🙂

  7. September 29, 2009 10:30 pm

    Thats a sign from the goddess, giving you a big up yours, pointing ALL her fingers at you, laughing at you and calling you a materialistic biacth! She KNOWS you only came for the food. Its Karma, you think you could disguise yourself in a saree? 😉

  8. October 5, 2009 5:25 pm

    sad … the good part is ” hey you get to buy a new phone and a new bag ” 🙂

Leave a Reply

