Skip to content

Of roasted chicken and raw fish

October 21, 2009

It’s been almost a month since I wrote a ‘proper post’ ,with my rants and issues with what is wrong with the world and why am I not been given my fair share. I continue with the sudden spate of parties-alchohol and food.Food has been of utmost importance these last 2 weeks.If  we were not plannning where to eat,we were driving amidst maddening traffic in search for the perfect sushi. So after an hour of driving at a speed of 10km/hr we finally reached Global Fusion in Bandra, which supposedly lays out a sumptuous buffet for a decent price. And as I entered and saw the wide array of sushis and sashimis and tempura, frustration gave way to amazement. There were atleast 40 different kinds of starters. And guess what? I am not even a big sushi fan.After almost 4 rounds of eating raw fish served in dainty little bowls, the Indian in me was dying for something hot and spicy. I ventured to the soup section only to realise that all along we have just been skating on the tip of the iceberg.The main course section was in a different room altogether!!!! Holy Moly.We revved up our engine and set forth with a vengeance.The place provided for clothes pin with your table number written on it,so if you wanted more than you could carry,or if something needed a bit of cooking before been served,all you had to do was clip the pin to the appropriate serving dish in the buffet table.Minutes later the waiter will come with the dish to your table.We decided the best was to clip ALL the dishes..except for the octopus thingy!!

After four hours we decided too much of super healthy Japanese food might not be that good for us.But at Rs.750, this was one heck of a value meal.(prices go up during weekends)

Diwali night we went to Moshe’s where besides burning a hole in my pocket (thanks to the 3 bottles of wine we ordered),S decided to buy some bread.The next day to complement the bread,I decided to finally try my hand at roast chicken,a dish I have been dying to make for quite some time(wow, do I sound like Nigella?)

So,after 2 hours of shopping,preparation and final cooking time, this is what I have..Voila….

roast chicken

(The raison d’etre of this post)

Including the recipe will take this blog to another level altogther,so I think I ought to wrap up this post fast.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. October 21, 2009 1:08 am

    The chicken looks good!
    Global fusion is average food but at a very resonable price, I loved going there. Eating tons of starters is my idea of a perfect meal.

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      October 22, 2009 1:03 am

      Yeah,thats why I love BBQ nation- heaven for kabab lovers.

  2. supmm permalink
    October 21, 2009 10:47 am

    The chicken looks quite good Lostie…let’s get the recipie please. And you can file this under a new category “Recipie” and enter in in one of the Cooking Blog competitions

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      October 22, 2009 1:04 am

      You know I am secretly hoping someone would ask me for the recipe..:-) I will feel all grown up trading recipes..

      • supmm permalink
        October 22, 2009 10:57 am

        So come on share share 🙂

  3. October 21, 2009 12:27 pm

    Wow.. the buffet sounds like a dream. And your chicken looks lovely, please post the recipe if it did taste the way it looks 😉

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      October 22, 2009 1:04 am

      To blow my own trumpet,YES IT WAS GOOD.even I was surprised!! 🙂

      • sid permalink
        October 22, 2009 1:35 am

        it was definitely good..so whats coming on my plate next;-)

  4. lostonthestreet permalink*
    October 22, 2009 1:40 am

    @ sid – The Bill.

Leave a Reply

