Skip to content

Finally hitting the roads again..

November 6, 2009

Its been weeks ..days 😛

Off  on a  GypsyFeet trip.Now that winter is here (those in Mumbai, yes the rest of the country is taking out the woollens,while you sweat under soaring mercury levels), our winter trips are all lined up.

I will be taking a group of girls for the GypsyFeet Fab 3 trip,  post which I shall meander around in the North East ,setting up more homestays and getting in touch with local guides.

So , join us for anyone of these trips , for your winter holidays.. Unless you plan to work right through the winter? 🙂

I love winters at home. Primarily because of the food.Of course. Magh Bihu is in the air.Every house you go to will still serve you pitha (rice cake),laru (coconut ladoos) and proper tea (not the milky chai,which I hate).

Winter means wrapping up in my old Naga Shawl and indulging in the favourite pastime of all Assames ” Jui Phua and Adda Maara” ( a deadly combination of sitting by the bonfire and gossiping late nights- this activity along with the afternoon siesta has been responsible for the current state of affairs of North East.Don’t blame the insurgents.)

Bogori (a kind of wild berry,donot know the English equivalent of it.Any Assamese,Unmana?QuirkyMon?)

Jolphai (a kind of olive, which is best had boiled and mashed with mustard oil and chillies..am almost salivating as I write this)

Dhekia (Fronds- yes we eat this.My personal favourite)

Koldil (Fruit of the Banana Plant)

Ou Tenga (Elephant Apple).

and of course Maas (fish).

Slurrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrp…Should I do a detailed post on Assamese cuisine?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2009 7:58 pm

    Oooh, have fun! I haven’t been to Assam on Magh Bihu (or any Bihu, rather) in sooo long, though we went right after it last year, in time for my niece’s birthday!

    I don’t know what “bogori” would translate to, I’m afraid. I was never very fond of them – or jolphai for that matter. I always shocked fellow Assamese by that admission. And I’m vegetarian.

    But I miss dhekia: I once had my mom make some and bring it over with her… it barely survived an all-day journey: two flights and a bus ride from Bombay!

    I keep a stack of dried sewali phool to make khar with. But how did you miss belahir tenga? That has to be my fave Assamese dish!

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      November 7, 2009 12:53 am

      Oh yes I forgotto add Sewali Phool . I love the bitternes of Xewali Phool,mixed with plain rice.
      Ok, am not too much of a Khar fan 😉
      Assamese Vegetarian- wow an oxymoron?

  2. November 6, 2009 7:59 pm

    Hah, now if only I could transfer my patience in writing comments to writing blog posts..

  3. November 6, 2009 8:36 pm

    have fun girl..i am visiting home soon and reading your post got me more excited!
    magh Bihu is one of my favorites ….the jui, the bhoj and early morning chai..hmmm.hmmm.hmmm
    i can wait to get home!

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      November 18, 2009 2:54 pm

      @ am waiting for Magh Bihu too!!

  4. November 6, 2009 8:39 pm

    i meant can’t not can

  5. November 9, 2009 2:04 pm

    Have fun on the trip!
    And I think bogori is called “jujube” in english. Not sure though.

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      November 18, 2009 2:55 pm

      googled jujube..somehow it looks bigger than our bogori.

  6. November 9, 2009 3:39 pm

    Is Assamese chai w/o milk?

    I am only used to the ‘nair kada chaya’ 😛

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      November 18, 2009 2:56 pm

      its very less milk, and not sickly sweet like in UP..though yes, black tea (we call it laal saah),is quite common too,

  7. November 10, 2009 6:45 pm

    Please dont write a post on assamese food, I will die in a pool of slobber.
    Bogori is called an umm wild berry, I love it dried or ripe or raw dipped in salt.
    Jolphai I have only had in pickled form and not such a great fan of it. Is dhekia the fern which has a curled head? I love it! love it! And yumm pitha and i also love the way assamese make their mashed potatoes with mustard oil and raw oinions- to die for!

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      November 18, 2009 2:57 pm

      had my share of all that in this trip-dhekia(it is what u think it is 🙂
      ,pitha,aloo pitika..ummmmmm

  8. November 14, 2009 1:41 am

    yes pulease.. but write in English!! 🙂

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      November 18, 2009 2:58 pm

      hehe..what do they say about food and music need no language!

  9. rasha permalink
    December 1, 2009 7:12 pm

    damn, i hadnt heard of most of these. Vegetarians suffer in hell huh? 😛

    • rasha permalink
      December 1, 2009 7:14 pm

      I meant the veggies u had written about at the end of the post.

Leave a Reply

