Skip to content

Siam .Sand Surf and Sea..

March 20, 2010

.. is a fatal combination for my delicate skin..The sensible thing to do ,would have been to stick to our original plan of a nice quiet holiday in Kashmir.Butt freezing  cold,where I would bury myself in woollens and sip on kehwua.But then what’s the fun in doing the sensible thing. Instead I spent the last day of my holiday puking my guts out, and sunburns all over my hands- all thanks to the heat.But I am jumping the gun. What happened in between was a hectic week of eating,  a drag show, cheap foot massages, temple visits, a long bus journey , snorkeling and a cruise.

Yes Thailand it was. 8 days and three places -Bangkok,Phuket and Phi-Phi island. In order of our priorities here are a few snap shots from our holiday

1) Food:

So, how do you like your meat?

Smiling at you from the plate?

Tempting you from the stands?

Or,hanging from the ropes?

2)Night Life of Thailand:

The bugger knew I was taking this picture, and nonchalantly placed his hands on the last four letters.

A friend took us to the Simon Lady- Boys’ Cabaret show.We were not allowed to click pictures.But the intrepid journalist that I am (and an Indian too, to hell with all the rules), I took pictures on the sly,hiding the camera under my shawl.All was well, or so I thought, till a flashlight was pointed on my good self.Caught like a deer in headlights, I did what any self-respecting journalist would do.Threw the camera on my partner’s lap and pretended to have nothing to do with either of them. I calculated that since the attendants  were all ladies (or lady boys), my boyfriend had a better chance of pacifying them.

So presenting, exclusive pictures of the night. Remember, you saw it first on Lostonthestreet.

Slow that I am, I kept thinking these are the ladies,of course, and the lady boys will make their grand entry later on.

Presenting Simon (See-Mon).

And now, pictures from backstage:

I am not lady enough to be a lady boy. I do not have such porcelain clear skin or delicate features.

The real fun, though is in the Sleaze Street of Phuket, where I saw prostitutes at work for the first time in my life. Here you can see old Americans making out with girls young enough to be their grand-daughters and young men turning down pretty young Thai ladies. “Sorry its my bed time”,said one exasperated 20 -something American to a Thai lady as she fell all over him,literally.If a 20’s young man on a decadent holiday with his friends refuses get laid by a willing participant, there is definitely a mis-match between demand and supply.

And then there were the other attractions of the night.If you spend the night in Ko Phi Phi island,and you must, donot miss the Thai Boxing, where amateurs and pro fight it out (not with each other).So,if you are drunk senseless and have friends who are ready to take advantage of your inebriated condition, you can sign up for  a bout of Thai Kickboxing.Winner wins a bucket of alcohol and loser takes home a few nasty bruises and a realization of who his true friends are.Yes, I wanted to sign up but the bar seemed to be filled with  healthy East Europeans and Russians,and considering I barely reached upto their knees, better sense prevailed on me.

Fire work s on the beach,literally and figuratively.Ain’t he perfect for a holiday fling? (Note to myself :Next time leave boyfriend in the hotel room)

3) Street Life:

What better way to relax than a foot massage.The best place, according to me, is not inside a salon,but in Khao San road,Bangkok- a relaxed cobbled street lined with huge banyan trees.

The Floating Market,a must-do on the tourist circuit…

where you are sure to bump into annoying tourists as these..

I found these hats very interesting because they are just like our Assamese Jaapis. Not too surprised, since Assam was ruled by the Ahoms,who migrated from Thailand.There are villages in Assam ,like Tai Namphake where the villagers speak a dialect similar to the language in Thailand and still follow the traditional customs and dress code of the great Tai race.


Odd one out..

4) Finally,the famed beaches of Thailand

Aah ha, so crystal clear blue waters do exist.Its no photo shopped at the travel brochures.I saw blue waters in the Pacific coast of Seattle,but it wasn’t this translucent clear water.


To get this view, you have to climb up to the highest point in Phi Phi Island.

Had fun?Don’t even think of going to Thailand now.We went in February and it was hot.

And when the heat gets to you,you might be tempted to do crazy things like ..get braids on your hair.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 20, 2010 7:36 pm

    wow, lovely pics! love thailand!! we did the same places last year. my new fav is sri lanka, millions of buddhas, awesome seafood, sexy beaches and much CHEAPER.

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      March 21, 2010 12:15 pm

      I have heard nice things about Sri Lanka.Maybe next year (had my share of beaches for the year)
      What is the best time to go?

  2. March 20, 2010 9:28 pm

    Wow.. looks like so much fun! And thanks for sharing the lovely pics 🙂

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      March 21, 2010 12:14 pm

      THank you 🙂

  3. Anupa permalink
    March 22, 2010 12:14 am

    Wow.. those lady boys look more lady like than any lady i’ve seen!!
    Lovely pictures btw.. and sounds like you had loads of fun 🙂

  4. Rati permalink
    March 22, 2010 1:47 pm

    hey khao san road looks nice!!! i missed it! thanks to Mr Nanda-who just wanted to be at patpong!!!!n yes it was so fucking hot!!!!Jan is the time to go…last time when i went in jan it was very pleasnt..

  5. March 22, 2010 7:05 pm

    looks like you had a fun time….its an exciting place no doubt but i remember leaving thailand with a sense of hopelessness for the women – almost every one seems to be engaged in the flesh trade-one way or the other!

    • March 22, 2010 8:08 pm

      I came back and read up on it.Seems this was a fall out of the Vietnam War, when GIs were given a week of Rest and Relaxation in Thailand, and wherever GIs congregated sex related establishments sprung .

  6. pradeep permalink
    March 26, 2010 12:40 pm

    Beautiful pictures..!!

  7. December 3, 2010 9:22 am

    having a regular nightlife can make your life a very colorful one, i enjoy having nigh outs `.”

Leave a Reply

