Skip to content

Three is the new Teens

March 28, 2010

It’s been ages since I have written any posts on my niece.Primarily because I used to only put up her pictures and wait for you all to go ‘awww’ but then  a good friend lectured me about the pedophiles crawling on the web and killed it for me .

But guess what?That little tyke can now talk and is mouthing some memorable quotes,so the pictures can be replaced with them.Unfortunately,she refuses to come on the phone,so I only get to hear them second-hand from the parents. And trust me,its not as fun.

These 3 are the gems which I picked from my brother-in-laws’s blog. (which he should update more often)

  1. Context – Kanchuki (her mom) is out of town. She tells me “Deuta*, I’m missing Ma”. I tell her, “Deuta is here with you, no?”. She says “Deuta cannot be Ma, and Ma cannot be Deuta”! I’m convinced she’s going to be a philosopher!
  2. She was showing me the nailpolish on her feet for the hundreth time! I was saying “Mm” and “Ya” for all her excitement about her nailpolish. She says “Deuta, you don’t know how to talk, you shouldn’t say “Mm” or “Ya”, you should say “Wow””!!
  3. This one is the worst – last week she tells me – “Deuta, you are such a bore, you dont let me do anything fun”! And she’s not yet 3 :(

* Deuta =Father in Assamese

  1. (This is when I met her recently in Hyderabad)
  2. Chomping away ‘Komolas’ (oranges) in Guwahati.
11 Comments leave one →
  1. sid permalink
    March 28, 2010 9:55 pm

    ha ha..she is adorable 🙂 one more to this list would be her telling me how she was sad when other kids had the laptop and she didnt and how happy she was when we gifted her one..

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      March 28, 2010 10:15 pm

      oh ya that was funny.

  2. March 29, 2010 5:07 pm

    Ha ha.. she’s so witty and her expressions are priceless!

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      March 29, 2010 11:37 pm

      yes taken after me 😛

  3. March 29, 2010 7:13 pm

    i am glad your BIL is recording everything she says. The reason why I have a blog….its just too precious not to have what they say recorded for posterity.

    she is a cutie!

    • lostonthestreet permalink*
      March 29, 2010 11:38 pm

      unfortunately its only once in a blue moon they did this.My sister’s mommy blog slowly became a travel blog ..:-/

  4. April 6, 2010 6:15 pm

    I was about to write a post with the exact same title.. albeit mine is more of a crib. I think I can still use the title though, not many read your blog and even fewer visit mine 😀

  5. July 2, 2010 12:34 pm

    Where are you lost??

  6. July 25, 2011 4:12 pm

    Very well written information. It will be beneficial to anyone who utilizes it, including myself. Keep doing what you are doing – looking forward to more posts.

  7. September 19, 2011 1:02 pm

    This is a very newsworthy blog! I am so happy I stumbled your site. Keep up the great work. Have a great day!Mail Forwarding

  8. June 15, 2012 9:29 am

    Where/ how r you? Have you moved base? Virtually?

Leave a comment